Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ART 1020: Surface & Process: Resources on the Creative Process

Creative Process: In General

See the following books and book chapters for more information about the creative process and convergent/divergent creativity.

In the First Person: Books

These books, videos and websites contain interviews with and writings by artists.

Artists In DepthHirshhorn Museum: Artists in Depth
http://www.hirshhorn.si.edu/bio/artists-in-depth/

This website from the Hirshhorn Museum, Smithsonian's museum of modern and contemporary art, brings together a variety of images, videos, web sources, and more on the work of 22 important international artists.

Interviews with Artists: Magazines

Each link below will take you to a list of interviews with artists in each of the featured journals. Most will be full text, but, if not, you may be able to find the journal in print on the first floor of the Jerome Library.

Interview cover

Interview: Interviews with Artists

Interview magazine was started by Andy Warhol! It contains lots of interviews with artists. Full text online.

Art in America

Art in America: Interviews with Artists

Art in America covers contemporary art worldwide. In print at Jerome Library  and full text online. 

Flash Art website

Flash Art: Interviews with Artists

Flash Art contains news of the contemporary art world. Full text online. 

BOMB cover

BOMB: Interviews with Artists

Bomb includes interviews and dialogues between artists, writers, musicians, directors, actors, photographers and musicians. Full text online. 

Artforum

Artforum: Interviews with Artists

Artforum covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, and advertising. In print at Jerome Library, 1996 to present.