Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ARTH 3190: Egyptian Art: Finding articles

Finding journal articles

JSTOR logo

Use library databases like JSTOR and Art Full Text to find articles about aspects of Ancient Egypt and its art production.

Search in Summon

BGSU Summon logo

To find articles in Summon, do a search, then use the boxes on the left to limit to scholarly publications, journals, and the language English. Click on a result to link to full text for those that have it. For those that say "citation online," click and then use the Find It! button in the database to link to full text.

Help with databases

See our Tutorials guide for links to videos that help you use ARTstor, JSTOR, and many of our other databases.

Journals at BGSU

JARCE Journal of Egyptian Archaeology Ancient Egypt Magazine

Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt
Publishes scholarly research on the art, archaeology, languages, history, and social systems of the Egyptian people. Full text online in JSTOR, 1962 to 2005.

Journal of Egyptian Archaeology
Publishes scholarly articles on ancient Egyptian culture, archaeology, history and texts. Full text online in JSTOR, 1914 to 2006.

Ancient Egypt
Museum and exhibition reviews, educational material, book reviews, features and an introduction to hieroglyphs. Full text online in Humanities International Complete (EBSCO), 2008 to present.

Getting full text

While databases like JSTOR are all full text, many other databases, like Art Full Text, may only have descriptions of the articles and not the full text itself. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:

Click on the "Find it!" button

Find it! in Art Full Text

If there is full text in another database, you will either be taken directly to the article, or you will see a link that says "Full text item" which will take you there.

Full text link

If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request a copy from another library.

To place an interlibrary loan request, you must create an ILLiad account, which you can do by clicking on "Interlibrary Loan" on the library's home page. ILL requests for articles are often filled much quicker than those for books because libraries usually scan the articles, and they are delivered to you online as a pdf.