Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

HIST 4800: Latin America & the US & the World: Government Information

Library and Internet resources that should be useful for doing research on the Latin American diplomatic history.

Databases That Identify Government Documents

You can identify government documents using these databases.   

BGSU Libraries Catalog

Many government documents are listed in the BGSU Libraries Catalog. Don't forget you can restrict your search to materials in the Government Documents Collections.

OhioLINK Central Catalog

If the BGSU Libraries don't own a copy of the document, check the holdings of the other OhioLINK Libraries.

ProQuest Congressional

Indexes Congressional hearings, documents, reports, bills, legislative history, etc. 1789 to present.  Some materials are also available full text, such as the entire run of the U.S. Serial Set. The U.S. Serial Set is a collection of House and Senate documents and reports and includes hundreds of thousands of full text valuable publications on every topic discussed by the U.S. Congress since 1789.

 

A Sample of U.S. Government Documents

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Internet Sites

Some federal agencies have established web sites that provide access to electronic documents that have been released under the Freedom of Information Act.

Useful Print Indexes

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publicationis 1900-1971
MAIN GOV DOCS INDEXES Z 1223 .A 1973x v.1-15

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents 1789-1976
MAIN GOV DOCS INDEXES Z 1223 .Z7L47J83 v.1-16

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1895 - 1976
MAIN GOV DOCS INDEXES GP 3.8:

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), 1915 - 1972
REF Z 7164 .E2P34

 

Documents Collections

 The BGSU Libraries house collections of United States, Ohio, Bowling Green, and Canadian government documents.  For more information, see the Government Information LibGuide.

Sources of Full Text International or Foreign Government Documents