Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

HIST 4800: Latin America & the US & the World: Journal & Magazine Articles

Library and Internet resources that should be useful for doing research on the Latin American diplomatic history.

Databases for Journal & Magazine Articles

There are many databases that might be useful, depending on your search topic.  To find a complete list of databases, go to the Research Databases main page.

Find Full Text Articles

 To find full text journals, see the E-Journals, Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers page.

If you already have a citation, try OhioLINK's Journal Article Lookup.

Useful Print Indexes

International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7

Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49

Social Sciences Index, 1974 - 1998
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .S62

Summon

Summon logo

Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.

Off-campus? Wireless? Sign in now!

Databases with Full Text News Sources

American Periodicals Series Online, 1741-1900, 1741 - 1940's

Searchable database of full text articles from a wide variety of American periodicals published between 1741 and the mid 1940's (despite the dates in the title).  This a great place to find articles, illustrations, recipes, poems, ads, etc. published during 1741-1815.

Lexis Nexis Academic, coverage varies

LexisNexis provides access to nearly 6,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. News coverage includes national, regional and campus newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources dating back to 1977.  This includes transcripts of news broadcasts.