Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Course Reserves: Music Reserves

Use this guide to find answers to your questions about finding and using course reserves.

Music Reserve Basics

Items that show the location of "Music Reserve" in the library catalog are located in the Music Library, which is on the third floor of the Jerome Library. 

Music Reserve materials must be requested at, checked out from, and returned to the Music Service Desk. 

You can find items on reserve by searching the catalog by instructor name or course number.

Link to online streaming audio reserves here.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Music Library materials can I put on reserve?

  • Books, scores
  • CDs, LPs, Cassettes
  • VHS, DVDs

(Yes! we have facilities for listening to and viewing older media formats)

How long are the loan periods?

  • 2-hour reserve (may not leave the Music Library)- this is the most common and popular option
  • 24-hour reserve

What about articles and book chapters?

For electronic articles, you may link to them directly from within your Canvas course; see the library's guide to persistent links to help you find the correct link in a variety of databases. The music library has two scanners you can use to scan and upload selected book chapters into your Canvas course.

What if the library doesn't have a copy?

We are happy to make instructors' personal copies of materials available for use via Music Reserve.

If you would like to request an item be purchased for the library's collection, please contact Reference Archivist Lindy Smith. However, it is not the library's policy to purchase copies of all required textbooks.

What if the library has a copy, but it's not available?

We can recall items that are checked out to make sure they're available for your students. Requests that include materials that are checked out may take longer to fill.

If something is missing or damaged, we can order a replacement copy. To make a request, please contact Reference Archivist Lindy Smith

For Instructors

Anyone teaching a course on campus is welcome to use the reserve services offered by the Music Library.  Please direct reserve requests and questions to Lindy Smith.  Requests will be processed in the order they are received. Please allow for a minimum of one week for processing; more time may be necessary at the beginnings of semesters.

Place a request

Assigned Listening

Streaming Audio Reserves:

The Music Library provides access to sound recording reserves on and off campus through Variations, our streaming audio server. All audio reserve requests from our physical collections will be placed on the streaming audio server, unless you are using a published anthology (which will only be available as a traditional reserve in the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives. Submit all of your reserve request as you ordinarily would, but please also tell us which specific tracks your students need from each recording and also send us a list of your course roster so that we can enroll the students in their appropriate section. We'll also enroll you as a student so that you can see the reserve system as they will.

Music Library (Shorter Loan) Recordings:

All Music Library recordings (status of Shorter Loan) may be put on reserve.  All recordings that are on 2-hour reserve, or for library use only, must be used by students at a listening station. Listening to library CDs with laptops or at public computers is not allowed.

Bill Schurk Sound Archives (Library Use Only) Recordings:

Because recordings in the archives are for library use only and never leave the Music Library, there is no need to place these recordings on reserve.  However, generating a list of titles and/or call numbers for students is very helpful, and we are happy to assist instructors in doing so.  If special use of archival recordings is needed, please consult Head Librarian, Susannah Cleveland.

Streaming Audio Databases:

The option to create playlists or provide permalinks in Blackboard/Canvas is available on streaming audio databases Naxos Music Library, DRAM, and American Song. We also offer streaming reserves for materials from our collections (excluding published anthologies).

Recording Rooms:

Recording rooms are also available for use.  All copies of sound recordings needed for class reserve must be made by the faculty member or graduate assistant; copyright compliance is the responsibility of the course instructor. It is advisable to make appointments to use the recording rooms through one of the other Music Library permanent staff members, during office hours (8a-5p M-F). Music Library staff will not make copies of reserve recordings for individual students, nor do we allow students to copy reserve recordings.

Get Help!

 

Get help from the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives.

 

Jerome Library, 3rd Floor
419-372-2307
mlsra@bgsu.edu

Visit our website.

Music Library Links

All Research Guides for Music

Music Library (ML/BSSA) Home
Ask Us at the ML/BSSA
About the ML/BSSA
Basics of Using the ML/BSSA
Services
Hours
Directions
Contact
News & Tips 

Search Oxford Music Online