Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Pop Culture Research - The Basics: Finding Articles

Getting Started with Pop Culture Research

Search Summon

Power search library resources and more!

Summon logo

 

Off-campus? Wireless? Log in now.

Pop Culture Databases

There are a number of databases useful for researching popular culture topics. Click on the name of the database to find a description and a link for database access.

General Databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    • indexes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials
    • covers a wide range of topics - good place to start research
  • Dissertation Abstracts
    • database of theses and dissertations (all dissertations since 1851)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • good place to find current topics in the news (via newspapers, news magazines, wire services, and news transcripts)
    • can find movie and play reviews as well
  • MasterFILE Premier
    • indexes mainly popular magazines

Film and Television

Consult the Finding Articles page of Film and Media Studies Resources site for more databases and additional resources for film and television research. Try also the Film Resources in the BPCL and the Television Resources in the BPCL pages.

Gender

Literature

Race/Ethnicity

There are many other research databases that might be useful. Try the link at the top left.

E-Journals

Search by title or ISSN

    

    

Librarian

Stefanie Hunker's picture
Stefanie Hunker
Contact:
Rm. 404 Jerome Library
Browne Popular Culture Library
University Libraries
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403
Website