Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Alumni Services: Ohio Residents' Remote Access

Local Access via Nearby Metropolitan Libraries

The Dayton Metro System offers ReferenceUSA remotely to its cardholders, as well as Business Source Premier,  Morningstar, and a host of databases in the following categories:

Arts                                History
Biography                     Homework
Business Information   Literary  Resources
Dayton                           News
Encyclopedias              Ohio
Genealogy                     Reading Fun
General Research
Health 

Similarly, the Cleveland Public Library offers online remote access to Business Source Premier, Business and Company Resource Center, Mergent, about a dozen other business databases, and several in other subject disciplines -- a total of 200 electronic resources covering topics from aerospace to career information to current news, once you have applied for and received a library card. 

Statewide Access via Columbus Metropolitan Library

Anyone residing in Ohio can get a card for the Columbus Metropolitan Library by completing the online application.  Once received, this library card offers remote access to

  • Business Source Premier
  • Ancestry.com - Library edition
  • Auto Repair Reference Center
  • EBSCO databases
  • Mango Languages
  • News Bank
  • Opposing Viewpoints 
  • And lots of other subscription databases.  

The full list of databases is also available.  Only a handful of the resources are restricted to on-site use; the remainder can be used from home, or wherever you have an Internet connection.

State Library of Ohio

  Click here to apply for a library card as an Ohio resident.

As a State Library cardholder, you will have access to the OhioLINK catalog and will be able to borrow items, and you'll be able to walk into the state library and use databases on site.  If you are a state employee, your state library card entitles you to remote access to OhioLINK databases.

This Ohio Web Library of databases and other resources includes information and resources such as full-text magazines and journals, reference materials, newspapers, art, test prep and tutorials, online courses, and career exploration and job search tools.