"Some people feel the rain. Others just get wet." — Bob Dylan
Photo from the 1964 St. Lawrence College Yearbook of a November 26, 1963
performance by "Bobby Dylan." This photo is in the public domain.
Call Number: Music Indexes ML118.M84 The Music Index Online contains citations from more than 640 international music journals including history, theory, performance, ethnomusicology, education, and popular music. It also includes citations for dissertations, reviews, and obituaries.
Coverage: 1973 to present
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Call Number: Music Indexes ML1.I83 RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.
Coverage: 1967 to present
Rock's Back Pages Rock's Back Pages contains indexes to articles from the popular music press. BGSU does not subscribe, so our users have access to the index, but not to the full text of the articles.
Coverage: c. 1970 to present
Ro-Ja-Ro Index The RoJaRo (Rock, Jazz, Roots, etc.) Index is a free "searchable key to articles, discographies, live-/ record-reviews etc published in the music press worldwide including fanzines...." Currently, users may only search by artist or group names. This is an index only, but articles you find here are likely to be available in print at the ML/BSSA.
Coverage: 1992 to present