Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Who's Citing Me?: Citation Searching

Which Resources Should I Use to Find Citations?

The three most comprehensive citation searching resources are Scopus, Web of Science,and Google Scholar.  While the resources are continually expanding their scope, no tool contains all articles and citations and one resource may perform much better for one researcher than another. 

Generally, Web of Science and Scopus offer thorough coverage of the sciences. Google Scholar also has good coverage of the sciences, but its tools are less robust and there is little quality control. It's best to try each of these databases and see which one offers you the best results.

The social sciences and arts & humanities have reasonable journal coverage in Web of Science and Scopus, but these database do not cover books. If you are in one of these fields, consider trying JSTOR or EBSCOhost in addition to Google Scholar. You can find instructions for each under the Additional Resources tab.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/paurian/ / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0


Comparision of Scopus and Web of Science

Scopus Web of Science
Total Records 42.5 Million Records (22 million include cited references) 40 million
Sources by type

18,000 peer-reviewed journals

600 Trade publications

350 Book series (mainly science)

3.7 million conference proceedings

10,000 journals

120,000 conferences

Coverage by date 1996-present for cited references

Science Citation Index 1965-present

Social Science Citation Index 1956-present

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present

Conference proceedings 1990-present

Coverage by subject area

14,000+ science journals

2,850 journals from the social sciences, arts, and humanities.

6,650 science journals

1,950 social science journals

1,160 arts & humanities journals

Conference proceedings

Metrics h-index h-index


Information compiled 1/06/11 from the following sources:

http://www.info.sciverse.com/scopus/scopus-in-detail/facts/
http://www.info.sciverse.com/UserFiles/2508.SciVerse.Scopus%20Health_Life_Physical%28LR%29.pdf
http://images.isiknowledge.com/WOK46/help/WOS/h_database.html#sci

Use Metrics with Caution

caution tape

There are concerns about citation metrics in the evaluation and assessment of scholars' impact on their field.