Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Chemistry: Books

Reference Books

 The majority of these books reside in the Main Reference Collection.  They'll offer you a wealth of information and should provide you with a solid foundation on which to build your research. 

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics

The annually updated CRC, with its onionskin paper and headache-inducing small print, has long been the source of essential chemical and physical data for almost all libraries. Format and indexing improvements in recent editions, especially in the tables of organic and inorganic compounds, have made the print version much easier to use, but finding a particular piece of data is sometimes still a challenge.

Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry

The Dictionary of Chemistry covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. The dictionary includes clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters, new entries on buckminsterfullerene, fullerite, quasicrystal, oscillating reaction, and one-pot synthesis, and a full alphabetical table of elements and their properties. Authoritative and up-to-date, this is the perfect reference book for students of chemistry and general readers interested in the chemical nature of our physical surroundings

Lange's Handbook of Chemistry

A standard reference for chemists for 70 years, this new Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.This Sixteenth Edition offers 40% new or extensively revised content and starting with this edition, the author includes equations that allow users to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure.

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary

 Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 15th Edition is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.

The Merck Index

Previous editions of this universally respected reference for chemists, biologists, and pharmacists are cited in Books for College Libraries, 3d ed., Public Library Catalog, and Guide to Reference Books. Each of more than 10,000 entries is devoted to a single substance or small group of related compounds. Coverage includes chemical and brand names, molecular weights and formulas, citations to scientific literature, depictions of structures, physical and toxicity data, details on commercial and therapeutic uses, and U.S. regulatory information. The 14th edition features over 700 new and completely revised monographs

Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

An up-to-date, comprehensive yet compact source of biochemical and molecular biological data containing more than 4,500 entries and over 1,000 figures, formulas and tables. The ideal reference book for the researcher, teacher and student.

Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

The new edition includes necessary adjustments and modernisation of the content to reflect changes and developments in chemical technology. Presenting a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials

Since its inception in the early 1950's, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include:
* A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity
* It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information
* Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials,

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis

With its 50,000 reactions and 4,111 reagents, Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis offers readers a substantial wealth of information. Each entry contains, where available: CAS numbers, InChI and InChIKeys, Alternative names and structures, Details on availability and physical properties, including solubility, form in which it’s supplied, purification methods, form obtainable in purification and preparation methods, Extensive reviews, Examples of transformations for each reagent with reaction schemes, Comparison of one agent’s specific properties with those of others capable of equivalent chemistry, together with reaction schemes, Stereo-, regio-, and enantio-control properties, Required precautions for working with the reagent, The various uses and characteristics of each reagent with illustrative examples, Related literature

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry

Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through applications and techniques.  The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory (environmental, clinical, QC, research, university), in the field or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a lab protocol and together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by academic and industrial researchers. Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry also enables preparation of procedures, protocols and "cookbooks" by managers and staff of laboratories

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology

The Mark Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology brings the state-of-the-art to the 21st century, with coverage of nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, and more.

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry

Three hundred alphabetically-arranged articles and approximately 1,000 short entries defining key concepts are gathered here in a ten-volume set--for chemists as well as readers in overlapping fields.  Includes sections on general principles, theoretical and computational methods; inorganic and coordination chemistry, and transition metals; organometallic chemistry; main group elements; bioinorganic chemistry; and catalysis, solid state chemistry, materials and nanomaterials.