Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Art History: Advanced research in art history

Online sources

Web of Science 

Don't let its name fool you! Web of Science contains indexes for the Sciences, Social Sciences, and the Arts & Humanities. Use the checkboxes at the bottom of the page to limit to one of these, or search all of them. With detailed citations from over 10,000 high-quality scholarly journals going back to 1965, Web of Science is a wonderful place to find interdisciplinary sources or sources outside of art history you may not have found otherwise.

The best thing about Web of Science is cited reference searching, which lets you plug in the citation for a book or article you already know about and see what other articles have cited it in their bibliographies. Watch this video from Georgia Tech for instructions on how to do a cited reference search.

Web of Science screenshot

HathiTrust Digital Library logo

HathiTrust Digital Library, hosted by the University of Michigan Libraries, contains over 5 million digitized items from the libraries at the Universities of Michigan, Indiana and Wisconsin as well as the University of California system. HathiTrust searches the full text of many of these items, including books and entire volumes of journals. While you cannot necessarily view the full text of everything you find, HathiTrust is a great way to identify book chapters and articles that may not appear in any other database or search engine. You can use Interlibrary Loan to request what you find. 

Summon automatically searches in the full text of every item in the HathiTrust Digital Library, and links to full text when appropriate.

ProQuest logoDissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses, from ProQuest, allows you to search over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written for U.S. and European universities. Finding a thesis or dissertation written on your topic can be very valuable, because it will contain a robust bibliography of sources that you can use, too! Full text is available for many of these. You can find full text theses and dissertations from OhioLINK schools (including BGSU) in the OhioLINK ETD. Sometimes theses and dissertations can also be found full text online - Google the title in quotes to see.

Auction catalogs

Christie's East Comic Collectibles 1993Auction catalogs contain reproductions of works (usually at least some are in color), detailed descriptions, exhibition and publication history (if it exists) and provenance. Christie's and Sotheby's are the largest auction houses. Use these three searches to find auction catalogs in the BGSU Library:

- subject "art auctions" and subject "catalogs"
- author "Christie's" and subject "catalogs"
- author "Sotheby's" and subject "catalogs"


You can add the name of an artist or genre to these searches to make them more specific. For example:
- Sotheby's catalogs and furniture

Many more auction catalogs can be found and requested through OhioLINK. For example:
- Sotheby's catalogs and furniture in OhioLINK

Click on the "Search OhioLINK" button to re-execute a BGSU catalog search in OhioLINK.
Search OhioLINK button

Toledo Museum of Art Reference Library

Toledo Museum of Art Reference Library


The Toledo Museum of Art Reference Library serves both the Toledo Museum of Art and the University of Toledo and is open to the public. As a guest, you can use items in the library but not check them out. Use the link above to view policies or search the library's online catalog.