Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

TECH 6950 Developing and Winning Government Grants: Government Agencies

Guide to government information resources for the BGSU Tech 6950 class. Provides links to important government resources for grants.

Statistical Resources

General Information About the Census

Census data is collected every 10 years so the most current is the 2000 Census. Both population and housing characteristics are reported in a vast array of data elements or variables. Some of the variables include: age, ancestry, education, family, gender, race, and housing.

Demographic information is reported by a wide variety of political and geographic areas including: U.S. and regions, states, counties, cities, towns (called places), metropolitan areas, and small areas:  tracts, block groups, and blocks.

U.S. Census Data on the Web

American Fact Finder   Loads of tables and data from both 1990 and 2000 censuses. Link to this resource to create a variety of maps, including TRACT MAPS. Search by street address or a variety of topics.

Census Home Page   This site is loaded with all sorts of demographic data and maps. Search for topics or major census files. Download or print tables of data.

County and City Data Book, 2007   This wonderful tool is mounted at the Census Bureau and includes numerous data items for states, counties, and cities. A great resource when comparing several geographic areas.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2009 The handbook of data. Statistical Abstract is published annually and is available in both hard copy and online.

Uniform Crime Reports   The Federal Bureau of Investigation has mounted Crime in the United States volumes in pdf format. Access to 1995 - to date editions.

FedStats Search for data by keyword or area across more than 100 statistical federal agencies.

Agency Websites

Federal Agency Pages

Agriculture Department Includes grant opportunities for nutrition, farming, food safety, land management, and more. 

Commerce Department  Includes links to contracting opportunities, grants, export assistance, economic data, laws and regulations, and trade information.

Education Department  The Department of Education provides a wide variety of grants and assistance.

Energy Department Focus on energy and environment.  There is a grants and contracts web page as well.

Health and Human Resources  Search across a wide array of HHS bureaus and agencies.  Includes a Grants and Funding page with links to Funding, Grants, Research, and Partners/Training.

Labor Department  Search the Labor Department pages for reliable, current economic information as well as their guide to Grants and Contract Opportunities.

To search for additional agency websites:  Federal Agency Search

Ohio Grants

Ohio Agency Pages

Ohio State Government Home Page Includes a directory to all Ohio agencies and links to agency pages. Use the search box at the top right of the page to search across agencies' sites.

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.