Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

I've Graduated: Now What?: Finding Articles

Tips on continuing your research when you're not a BGSU student any more.

Statewide Resources

A number of research databases are available to Ohio residents with a public library card. See:

Ohio Web Library: http://www.oplin.org/databases/

Many other states also have statewide agencies that purchase databases for all residents, including Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, etc.

Free Resources

Most of the library's databases are only available with a subscription (and are very expensive), which is why only BGSU students, faculty and staff can log in and use them from off campus. However, many research databases, particularly those produced by the government, are free. This list will help you determine if a database you use frequently can be accessed for free.

Here's a selection, by subject:

Art & Art History

Biography

Business

  • Hoovers: Company and industry information.

Criminal Justice

Dissertations

E-Books

Economics

  • IDEAS: Internet Documents in Economics Access Service. 1920s-present.

Education

  • ERIC: the most comprehensive database for education research. 1966-present.
  • Teacher Reference Center: professional journals for teachers. From EBSCO.

Ethnic Studies

  • HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies. Index to articles and books. 1990-present.

Film

Law & Government

Library Science

  • LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts. 1960s to present.

Medicine, Health & Nursing

  • PubMed: articles in the life sciences and biomedical journals. 1950s to present.
  • Medline Plus

Music

  • RoJaRo: find articles about popular music. 1992-present.

Sciences

  • Agricola: search books and articles owned by the National Agricultural Library.
  • DOAJ: open-access scholarly journals.
  • GreenFILE: articles about environmental issues. From EBSCO. 1913-present.
  • PubMed: articles in the life sciences and biomedical journals. 1950s to present.
  • PLoS: Public Library of Science.

Social Sciences

  • DOAJ: open-access scholarly journals.
  • ERIC: articles and research reports on education and the social sciences. 1966-present.

E-Resources & Humanities Librarian