Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

HIST 3100: Modern Latin America: Government Information

A guide to library and Internet resources that may be useful in researching papers about modern Latin America.

A Few Useful U.S. Government Documents

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Internet Sites

Some federal agencies have established web sites that provide access to electronic documents that have been released under the Freedom of Information Act.

Useful Databases

BGSU Libraries Catalog

Many government documents are listed in the BGSU Libraries Catalog. Don't forget you can restrict your search to materials in the Government Documents Collections.

OhioLINK Central Catalog

If the BGSU Libraries don't own a copy of the document, check the holdings of the other OhioLINK Libraries.

ProQuest Congressional

Indexes U.S. Congressional hearings, documents, reports, bills, legislative history, etc. 1789 to present.  Full text is available for some items 1980 to present.

Useful Print Indexes

Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publicationis 1900-1971
MAIN GOV DOCS INDEXES Z 1223 .A 1973x v.1-15

Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents 1789-1976
MAIN GOV DOCS INDEXES Z 1223 .Z7L47J83 v.1-16

Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, 1895 - 1976
MAIN GOV DOCS INDEXES GP 3.8:

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), 1915 - 1972
REF Z 7164 .E2P34

 

Documents Collections

 The BGSU Libraries house collections of United States, Ohio, Bowling Green, and Canadian government documents.  For more information, see the Government Information LibGuide.