Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

HIST 3100: Modern Latin America: Articles & News Sources

A guide to library and Internet resources that may be useful in researching papers about modern Latin America.

Databases for Journal & Magazine Articles

There are many databases that might be useful, depending on your search topic.  To find a complete list of databases, go to the Research Databases main page.

Find Full Text Articles

 To find full text journals, see the E-Journals, Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers page.

If you already have a citation, try OhioLINK's Journal Article Lookup.

Useful Print Indexes

International Index to Periodicals, 1907 - 1965
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7

Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49

Social Sciences Index, 1974 - 1998
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .S62

Finding Articles at Google Books and Google News Archive

Google Books now has full text of some periodicals.  You can specify results from Magazines on the Advanced Search page.

Google News Archive also has full text of some magazines and newspapers.  Google has purchased access to a number of historical newspapers that were previously available from Paper of Record, inclucing some from Latin America.  To see a list of titles currently available, click here.

Anti-Chavez March in Venezuela, 2004

Image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.

Summon

Summon_big

Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.

Off-campus? Wireless? Sign in now!

Databases with Full Text News Sources

Access NewspaperARCHIVE, coverage varies: 1700's - present

This database contains millions of searchable newspaper pages from around the world.  Dates of coverage vary, but some newspapers are available from the 1700's.  Some newspapers have coverage for only a few years, while others have coverage for long spans.

Lexis Nexis Academic, coverage varies

LexisNexis provides access to nearly 6,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. News coverage includes national, regional and campus newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources dating back to 1977.  This includes transcripts of news broadcasts.

New York Times Historical, 1851 - 4 years ago

Latin American Newspapers