Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

HIST 6210: Seminar in Early American History: Articles (Secondary Sources)

A guide to BGSU Library resources that may be useful in studying early America.

Start With These Databases

America: History & Life, 1964 - present

Citations to articles, dissertations, etc. on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

JSTOR

Full text articles from scholarly journals on many topics, including history.  You can search groups of journals, by subject, or search individual titles.  This is an archival collection, so you usually won't find journal from the most recent 3-5 years, but you will find back files of journals that may go back to the 19th century.

 

Some Additional Useful Databases

Bibliography of Native North Americans, 16th century - present

An index which covers all aspects of Native North American culture, history, and life.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1975 - present

Indexes articles and other resources on the history of science, technology, and medicine, and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present.

Humanities International Complete, 1925 - present

A searchable database of the full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities, including history.

Web of Science, 1980 - present

This includes all 3 ISI citation databases: Arts and Humanities Citatioin Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Sciences Citation Index Expanded. 

 

Useful Print Indexes

Poole's Index to International Literature, 1802 - 1906
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .P7

Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965 - 1974
MAIN REF INDEX AI 3 .R49