Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

HIST 4000: Resistance to the Nazis: Books

A guide to library and Internet resources that may be useful in researching resistance to the Nazis and the rescue of some of the victims.

Start Here To Search for Books

When you know the title of the item you are seeking, the first step is to search by title in an online catalog.

Finding Books That Include Primary Sources

One way to identify books that are primary sources is to look for books written by people who were involved in the event or activity you are researching.  When you look at secondary sources, write down the names of people and then look for them as authors.

In the BGSU Libraries Catalog, the OhioLINK Central Catalog, and WorldCat, books that have been assigned subjects with the subheadings in the list below might be primary sources.  However, don’t expect that a book that includes primary sources will always include one of these words or phrases in a subject heading.  Also, these subheadings are not used in other databases.

--Diaries

--Correspondence

--Biography

--Sources

--Anecdotes

--Personal narratives

--Interviews

Examples:

Anti-Nazi Movement -- Germany -- Berlin -- Biography

Edelweisspiraten (Resistance Groups) -- Biography

Anti-Nazi Movement -- Personal Narratives

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- France -- Le Chambon-sur-Lignon -- Personal Narratives

Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Personal Narratives

Jewish Children in the Holocaust -- Biography

Scholl, Hans, 1918-1943 -- Correspondence

World War, 1939-1945 -- Jews -- Rescue -- Sources

World War, 1939-1945 -- Underground Movements -- Norway -- Biography

  

For information about the difference between primary and secondary sources, see:

Primary and Secondary Sources

 

Google Books and the Internet Archive

Don't forget that Google Books and the Internet Archive both include the full text books that are no longer under copyright.  To be sure and retrieve only full text books from Google Books, check "Full view only" on the search pageThe Internet Archive also includes audio and video files.

Don't expect to find a great deal of full text resources here because most of the books written during World War II are still under copyright.  However, it can be used as a place to identify materials that you can then borrow from a library.

A sample of titles that might be useful: