Searching the Catalog
Try the subjects listed below to find materials in the BGSU Libraries Catalog. If you want to find more, after viewing what's available at BGSU, click on the "Search OhioLINK" button.
AASHE Digest 2009 - A Review of Campus Sustainability News
The rapid growth in campus sustainability in the U.S. and Canada is documented within the AASHE Digest 2009, a 380-page report (available as a free download) from the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education. Almost 600 institutions of higher education are mentioned in this report.
Also available, as downloads from AASHE website, are posters, panels, and presentations from the AASHE 2010 Conference.
State of the World - Worldwatch Institute
This annual publication from the Worldwatch Institute focuses on the world's environmental challenges. The 2008 volume looks at Innovations for a Sustainable Economy. The Worldwatch Institute makes available free chapter downloads (minus endnotes) of the State of the World 2008: Innovations for a Sustainable Economy at their website. To obtain the endnotes consult the print volume (2008) which is available in Jerome Library's Reference Collection at REF HC59.S734 .
The 2010 print volume, Transforming Cultures: From Consumerism to Sustainability is available at the same location.
On April 11th, the new publication, State of the World 2012: Moving Toward Sustainable Prosperity will be released.
Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.)
Specialized encyclopedias often help to obtain a "big picture" understanding and also focus upon a search topic.
- Encyclopedia of Energy (2004)6 volumes. Over 380 articles provide excellent background information and basic knowledge for many current energy topics.
- Encyclopedia of Global Change (2005)***Available ONLINE*** This encyclopedia covers changes in the earth's physical, chemical, and biological systems and resources and the impact of those changes on human society.
- Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change (2002)5 volumes. The first four volumes cover the broad issues of the science and politics of global environmental change. The last volume attempts to link global environmental change to the socioeconomic, cultural and ethical dimensions of human societies.
Subject Guide
Sing it Loud!
