Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Researching for a literature review: Dissertations

Dissertations

All Databases > Dissertations

Recommended multi-disciplinary databases:

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) - an index (not the full text) of all doctoral dissertations and some master-level theses in North America and selected European schools. Abstracts available for content published since the 1980s. Locating dissertations does not guarantee, however, you can get the material from the home institution. Institutions may not lend their sole copy of a dissertation, but ProQuest will sell you a copy for a fee.

Note authors of interest and check their publication record, in case the dissertation or future research was published elsewhere.

Some scholars have had luck requesting a copy of the bibliography of a dissertation, rather than the entire project.

Full text doctoral dissertations, masters' theses and undergraduate honors theses from 24 Ohio colleges and universities, including Bowling Green State University. Users may search the full text of these publications or browse by institution, department, or author.

PQDT - also from ProQuest, a directory of full text, open access dissertations and theses, from 1950s to present.

Go Abroad

Another collection of theses, focusing on electronic theses from European research libraries:

DART-Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP) is a growing collection of theses and dissertations from nearly 300 universities in 17 countries.