Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

EBooks: EBC American & English Literature Collection

A guide to the electronic books collections available through the BGSU Libraries.

Popular Titles

OhioLINK EBC American & English Literature Collection Quick Facts

EBC logo

OhioLINK EBC American & English Literature Collection

Coverage: 600 to 2000
Users: Unlimited simultaneous users
Contains: Fourteen collections of literature in English, including subcollections in poetry, drama, fiction, Shakespeare, Yeats, and the Bible. Particularly of note are collections of African-American poetry from 1760-2000
Best for: Known-author searching; poetry
Printing: Use the “print view” link while viewing a chapter or section of a work to print that chapter or section
Download Select the section from the Table of Contents that contains the text you want to download and click on PRINT VIEW in the navigation bar. The text will open in a new window and can be saved as HTML
Compatible Devices Any that will accept an HTML file

Details

The EBC American & English Literature Collection contains over 290,000 items in the 14 collections outlined below:

African American Poetry 1760-1900
The full text of almost 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. African-American Poetry is a resource for literary scholars and for researchers in black studies, linguistics, women's studies, black literary heritage, and comparative studies. The poetry explores a multitude of topics, including abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice, and slavery. The variety of poem types is equally broad. The database includes allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets. The poets represented were chosen from the reference work Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975 by William French. For modern African-American poetry, see 20th Century African-American Poetry.

20th Century African American Poetry
The full text of 12,000 works by more than 100 poets, including Audre Lorde, Langston Hughes, Rita Dove, and emerging poets. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work. For early African-American poetry, see African-American Poetry 1760-1900.

American Poetry 1600-1900
A full text collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry. This database contains works from all major American poets, including Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and John Greenleaf Whittier, among others. The complete text of each poem, as well as integral accompanying text such as notes, dedications, and prefaces to individual poems, is included. Inclusions were selected primarily from The Bibliography of American Literature (Yale University Press, 1955-1991), though additional poets were added to provide a more thorough and rounded collection. For modern American poetry, see 20th Century American Poetry.

20th Century American Poetry
The full text of 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets. Coverage includes all major movements and schools of American poetry from the 20th century, including the New School, the Chicago School, the Southern School, the Confessionals, the Beats, and the Black Mountain poets. For early American poetry, see American Poetry 1600-1900.

English Poetry 600-1900
The full text of over 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from the British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries written before 1900. Works were chosen from poetry collections listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, many of which are rare or currently unavailable in print. English works by Welsh, Scottish, and Irish poets are also included. For modern English poetry, see 20th Century English Poetry.

20th Century English Poetry
The full text of over 44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library. The complete text of each poem is included, and any integral images are also scanned. Introductions and prefaces to the volumes are included, as are all notes and any prose sections. For early English poetry, see English Poetry 600-1900.

American Drama
The full text of 706 plays written by over 300 American dramatists between 1741 and 1911.

English Prose Drama
The full text of more than 1,800 prose plays by approximately 400 authors from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century. Works were selected from the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature and the text taken from early or collected editions of the works. Selected page images are linked from the searchable full text. This database complements English Verse Drama.

English Verse Drama
The full text of more than 2,200 works by over 800 authors (some anonymous), from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century through the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods to the end of the nineteenth century. Works were selected from the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, and editions contemporary with their authors were used. Major verse dramas as well as masques and short dramatic pieces written primarily in verse, selected translations, works written for children, and numerous adaptations are included.

Early American Fiction
The full text of 440 novels and short stories by 80 American authors written between 1774 and 1850.

18th Century Fiction
The full text of 96 prose works written between 1700 and 1780 by British, Irish, Scottish and Welsh authors. Both widely-studied texts and lesser-known works are included. Each work is available as searchable text (usually the complete text of the first edition) along with some original page images (title pages and illustrations) linked from the appropriate point in the text. The first London edition of Tristram Shandy has been scanned in its entirety, to capture all of its idiosyncrasies.

Yeats Collection
The electronic full text of Yeats's complete works (22 printed volumes), including the author’s critical prose, fiction, poetry, plays, and autobiographical works.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
The complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.

The Bible in English
Twenty-one versions of the Bible, including thirteen complete Bibles, five editions of the New Testament, two editions of the Gospels, and William Tynsdale’s translations of the New Testament, Pentateuch, and Jonah. The editions were chosen specifically to meet the needs of scholars of English literature and the history of the language, as well as those in Biblical and theological studies. Protestant, Roman Catholic, and nonconformist editions of the Bible are all included to allow searching and comparison across different centuries and religious beliefs.