To identify books that are primary sources:
1) Look for books written by people who were involved in the event or activity you are researching. (Tip: When you look at secondary sources, write down the names of people and then look for them as authors.)
2) In the BGSU Libraries Catalog, the OhioLINK Central Catalog, and WorldCat, books that have been assigned subjects with the subheadings in the list below might be primary sources. Not all books that include primary sources will include one of these words or phrases in a subject heading.
Washington, George, 1732-1799 -- Correspondence
United States -- Foreign Relations -- 1801-1809 -- Sources
United States -- History -- 1783-1815 -- Anecdotes
United States -- Social Conditions -- To 1865 -- Sources
United States -- History -- War of 1812 -- Personal Narratives, English
New Mexico -- History -- Mexican War, 1846 - 1848 -- Personal Narratives
Internet Archive is a database of books, magazines, audio and video files, maps, etc. It's a good place to find books that are old enough to be no longer under copyright.
For a more complex search, click on the Advanced Search link to the right of the search box on the home page. This allows you to customize your search in many ways.
To identify books, you can search the three main catalogs:
Indexes books, magazines and journals, videos, music, and electronic resources that are owned by BGSU.
Indexes books, videos, music, electronic resources from college and university libraries, the State Library of Ohio, and some large public libraries in Ohio. Request online, with delivery to Jerome Main Circulation desk in 3-5 business days.
Identify materials at tens of thousands of academic, public, and special libraries internationally. You can request things not owned by BGSU or OhioLINK via interlibrary loan -- average delivery time is 17 days.
The HathiTrust Digital Library provides access to a database of digitized books and other materials. You can search the catalog, search full text, or browse the public collections. Note that not all books are available full text.
To find only those books that are available full text, you can search the catalog on the main search page and click on the box next to "Full View Only."
To do a more complex search, click on the Advanced Catalog Search link. You can also select "Full View Only" on this page.
Google Books is a searchable database of books and magazine articles, but not all of the books are full text.
At the Basic Search page, you can simply type in keywords to do a search. You can also browse by subjects, listed on the left side of the page. Each book in the results list will include the designation:
To search for only full text books: