Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

RefWorks: Importing/Exporting Citations (Legacy RefWorks)

Importing From Summon and the Library Catalog

From Summon
 
  1. Perform search.
  2. Save records of interest by clicking on the folder icon in the upper right corner of each record.
  3. Click on on the "Saved Items" folder.
  4. Choose "RefWorks" next to "Export."
  5. You will be prompted to log in to your RefWorks account.
  6. The record will automatically import into your RefWorks account.
  7. You will see a message stating "Import completed – X records imported" if your import was successful.
Note: Summon always works best with Firefox. If you experience problems importing while using Internet Explorer, try switching browsers.

 

 

From the BGSU Libraries' or OhioLINK catalogs
   
ALERT: These directions not working for OhioLINK Catalog on 4/23/12.  Use alternate directions below.
  1. Perform search.
  2. Mark and save records of interest ("Save Marked").
  3. Click on "View Saved."
  4. Choose "Full Display."
  5. Choose "Local Disk."
  6. Click on Submit.
  7. Popup box File Download appears – choose Save.
  8. Save the document as a .txt file in a place you’ll remember.
  9. Close box when download is complete.
  10. Login to your RefWorks account.
  11. Click on References – Import.
  12. Import Filter/Data Source – choose "Bowling Green State University."
  13. Database – choose "BGSU Libraries Catalog (Full Display)" or "OhioLINK Library Catalog (Full Display)."
  14. Choose a folder to import the reference into if you wish.
  15. Select "Import Data from the following Text File."
  16. Use Browse button to find file you just saved.
  17. Click Import.
  18. You will see a message stating "Import completed – X records imported" if your import was successful.

You may also use the End-Note/RefWorks import and export that appears as an option in the catalog and as an alternate filter within RefWorks, but it may not import all data correctly for some citation styles.

 

Alternate Directions for OhioLINK Library Catalog

1. Open Refworks.

2. Choose Search>Online Catalog or Database

3. In the pop-up window, choose to search OhioLINK

4. Enter search terms

5. Search

6. From result set, mark item to import

7. Import

Importing From Other Bibliographic Management Systems

From EndNote version 8 or higher:

     1. Log in to RefWorks

     2. Select "References" - "Import EndNote V8 Database"

     3. Click the "Browse" button and locate your EndNote .enl file

     4. Specify a folder to import the references to (optional)

     5. Click the "Import" button

From EndNote version 7 or lower:

1. In EndNote, go to the the "Edit" menu and select "Output Styles" and "Open Style Manager." Select "RefMan (RIS) Export." Close the Style Manager, go back to Edit, then Output Styles, and select "RefMan (RIS) Export" from the pulldown menu.

2. Highlight the references you want to export. Under the Reference menu select Show Selected (or Show All if you wish to export the entire database).

3. Under the File menu select "Export."

4. In the dialog box that appears, name your file and navigate to a location where you want to save your text file. Select "Text" as your Save As type and click "Save."

5. Go to RefWorks and select "Import" under the References menu.

6. In the Import Filter/Data Source pulldown menu, select "Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software." In the Database menu, select EndNote. Use the Browse button to navigate to the text file you saved from EndNote and select it.

7. Click on Import.

From Reference Manager or Procite:

See RefWorks Help - Getting References Into Your Account - Converting From Other Bibliographic Management Programs.

Importing from Google Scholar

First, set up the feature in Google Scholar.

  1. From the Google Scholar search page, click on Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Bibliography Manager section.
  3. Select Show Links to Import Into and select RefWorks from the drop-down.
  4. Click Save Preferences.

Then import your references!

  1. Conduct your search in Google Scholar
  2. Each record displayed will now have an Import into RefWorks link. Clicking on the link will launch the RefWorks login page.
  3. Once you log in, you are brought automatically to the Edit view of the reference. If you do not wish to edit the record, you can navigate to any other area of RefWorks.
  4. Your record is stored in your Last Imported Folder.

Importing FAQs

When I try to import citations, nothing happens.
Try disabling the popup blocker on your browser.
- Internet Explorer
- Firefox
- Safari
- Google Toolbar

I am getting an error when I try to import citations.
- go to "Import"
- check that the "Import Filter/Data Source" and "Database" have been selected correctly.

I am having trouble importing from EBSCO.
You may find the following page helpful: Troubleshooting RefWorks and Ebsco Direct Export (created by the Libraries at UNLV, last updated 2006).

I am having trouble importing from ERIC.
You may find the following page helpful: Troubleshooting Refworks (by Bob Houdek, Ohio University, last updated 2009).

None of these solve my importing problems.
Usually saving your citations as text files and importing them from within RefWorks will solve most direct import errors. See RefWorks Help - "Getting References Into Your Account" for more information.

My database isn't listed in the RefWorks list.
For a complete list of databases with import filters, visit RefWorks’ list of Database Services Supported. If you do not find a filter for a particular database, you may request that RefWorks create one. While logged into your RefWorks account, click on "Help" - "Request" - "Import Filter" and fill out the form. Keep in mind that it may not always be possible to create a filter for a particular database. This decision is usually that of the database vendor and not RefWorks.

Exporting FAQs

Where can I export my bibliographic information?

  1. into another bibliographic management program (such as EndNote)
  2. to a comma-delimited file
  3. as a text file
  4. into Microsoft Word as a formatted bibliography
  5. into RefWorks format (for importing by another RefWorks user)

How do I export my RefWorks citations to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager?

  1. Log in to RefWorks
  2. Select Export under the References menu and then select either All References or the specific folder you want to export.
  3. Under Export Format select Bibliographic Software,  sometimes called the RIS or Reference Manager Format.
  4. Click the Export to Text File button and save this file to your computer.
  5. You may now import this file to your EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager library, using RIS Format as the import option.

How do I export RefWorks cites in Latex/BibTeX format?
After you've input your citations into RefWorks

  1. select the Bibliography button
  2. select BibTeX as the output format.
  3. choose Format a Bibliography from a List of References
  4. select RTF as the File Type to Create
  5. select All References or choose a folder
  6. select Create Bibliography. A separate RTF document with your citations in BibTeX format will be created.