Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Russian Language and Culture: History

A resource guide for faculty and students in the Russian Section of the Department of German, Russian, and East Asian Languages at BGSU.

Books in Jerome

General Country Information

The links in this box provide access to information about countries all over the world.

Databases

These databases contain excellent resources on Russian history and related topics. 

The first two databases are primarily indexes; full text of the article may be located by clicking  if a PDF version is not available.

An index of journal articles on world history, with a non-US focus. Using advanced search, you can search for items written in Russian (or Slovak, Slovene, Serbocroatian, Romanian, etc).
Excellent for interdisciplinary topics. Indexes and abstracts articles on history, music, literature, philosophy and religion, and includes the full text for many journals, including Russian Linguistics, Russian Review, Russian Studies in Literature, and Russian Philosophy. Can also limit searches to Russian or other language results.
An archive of  leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials. Using Advanced Search, choose the Discipline > Slavic Studies to search 10 titles focusing on this area, or search for specific authors, works, or events.The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available within JSTOR.

    History of Russia