Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Russian Language and Culture: Study Abroad

A resource guide for faculty and students in the Russian Section of the Department of German, Russian, and East Asian Languages at BGSU.

Using Library Resources around the World

BGSU Summer program in St. Petersburg

Even if you are not on the BGSU campus, you are able to take advantage of the Libraries' resources and services as a BGSU student or faculty member.

To use electronic resources when you are away from campus, you simply use your BGSU username and password for remote access and for access to your library account (for more information, click here).

The Libraries have an incredible number of e-journals and increasing access to e-books. Check throughout this guide for suggested resources.

If you experience problems accessing materials electronically, click on the ASK US! tab above to learn how to IM or email a librarian.

Grand Kremlin Palace
Image from World Images

E-Books

Search these e-book collections for possible sources, especially if you're away from campus! If you are using them off-campus, you may be prompted to use your BGSU username and password.

Two main e-book databases are listed below.  To access even more, visit the Libraries E-Book Collections.

Literature Databases

This will search several EBSCO Literature Databases at once: Academic Search Complete; Humanities International Complete; Literary Reference Center; MLA Directory of Periodicals; and MLA International Bibliography.

 

Electronic Delivery of Print Articles

The University Libraries is piloting a new service for Faculty and Distance Education students. As Study Abroad students, you are clearly distance students! Basically, if BGSU owns a journal in print, you can request an article from that journal via Interlibrary Loan and have it delivered electronically to your desktop, no matter where you are.

Requesting an Electronic Copy of an Article Only Available in Print:

  • If you identify an article that is not available in full text, enter the citation via interlibrary loan using ILLIAD. If BGSU owns the print copy, and you're faculty or a distance education patron, you will receive a copy of the article electronically. Items not owned by BGSU will be requested via the regular interlibrary loan process.
  • Distance students should add text in the note field of each request in ILLIAD that they are a "distance education student."


Turn Around Times For ILLIAD Requests

  • Articles From BGSU: 1 Business Day
  • Articles From Other Institutions: Approximately 2 Weeks.

For more information, contact ill@bgsu.edu

Problems with your Library Account?

If you are not able to log onto a library database or use a resource and instead receive a message asking you to update your library account, please contact the library circulation desk. You can email them at circdesk@bgsu.edu

Online Dictionaries

Hot Tip

Follow the "Find It!" link or button on an article in the research databases to locate online or print articles in other databases!

If an article isn't available full text in one database, it may be full text in another. Following Find It! will save you much time and frustration.

The Find It! button looks like this:  find it button OR OhioLINK find it button.