Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

BGSU 1000: Information Literacy: Step 4: Months after event

This resource is designed for use in the BGSU 1000 course.

Case Study

Early 2006 and onward: As more time passes, scholars and specialists write detailed, analytical, heavily researched articles about Hurricane Katrina.

(Image from the University of South Alabama library.)

Such articles discuss the storm's effects upon and implications for many different fields. The impact of Hurricane Katrina can be seen in every area from medical care to engineering to sociology.

"Mental Illness and Suicidiality after Hurricane Katrina" (Bulletin of the World Health Organization, Nov. 2006)

"Personal Responsiblity and Volunteering after a Natural Disaster: The Case of Hurricane Katrina" (Sociological Spectrum, Nov. 2007)

"Urban Resilience and the Recovery of New Orleans" (Journal of the American Planning Association, Spring 2006)

"Media Effects on Public Safety Following a Natural Disaster: Testing Lagged Dependent Variable Models" (Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly, Winter 2007)

"Perceived Stress among a Workforce 6 Months Following Hurricane Katrina" (Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology, Dec. 2007)

Scholarly Journals

Unlike popular magazines, scholarly journals are written by specialists in the field and are intended for a scholarly audience—that is, researchers, specialists, and students in the field. Authors in these journals use jargon and assume that the reader already understands the basics of the topic. In addition, scholarly journals are usually peer-reviewed, which means that other experts in the field have read and approved them.

You can read this guide for more information on the differences between scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade publications, and see below for information about locating resources in Academic Search Complete and other research databases.

Academic Search Complete Database

 

Academic Search Complete is a broad reaching database that covers many different disciplines. Much of what is in this database is available full text. Remember to click on the FIND IT! link to check availability if you don't see the PDF Full Text link.

Building Your Search:

  • Putting terms together with OR will expand your search and give you more results. Using AND will narrow your search and return fewer results.
  • If you're having trouble thinking of search terms, try playing with Lexipedia or Visuwords.
  • Using the truncation operator (*) can save you a lot of typing. Searching for environment* has the same effect as searching for environment or environments or environmental or environmentalism.
  • Also try the wildcard operator (?). Searching for wom?n is the same as searching for woman or women.
  • If you're searching for a phrase, put it in quotation marks. To find articles about Dr. Seuss's One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, search for "one fish two fish red fish blue fish" instead of one fish two fish red fish blue fish.
  • More tips are in the help file, which you can always find by clicking the Help Iconbutton next to the search box.


Working with Your Results List:

  • You can click on the Subject: Thesaurus Terms on the left side of the screen to help weed out irrelevant results.
  • You can also click on the Source Types on the left to get only journal articles, only books, only newspapers, etc.
  • Put a checkmark by Academic Journals on the right side of the screen to limit your results to scholarly journals.
  • Tired of seeing articles from 1988? Drag the sliders on the right side of the screen to limit your results to a particular date range.


When You Find an Article You Like:

  • If the HTML full text or PDF full text link isn't available for an article, click the  button. You might still be able to get the full text through the library.
  • You can export citations to RefWorks , email articles to yourself , and even bookmark your results using tools like del.icio.us and Facebook. Bookmark Image

Library Research Databases

The library has hundreds of additional databases (in addition to Academic Search Complete) where you can locate articles and information. Since there is no way to search every database at once, you can either locate the particular database you want to search by name, or you can narrow down the list of databases by topic in order to help find the one that will have the information you're looking for. The databases can be found by clicking the All Research Databases link from the Library's home page, or by selecting from the links below.

Database Video Tutorials

The videos below will help you learn how to get the most out of the Academic Search Complete database.