Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

BGSU 1000: Information Literacy: Step 3: Weeks after event

This resource is designed for use in the BGSU 1000 course.

Case Study

September 12, 2005: Time publishes its post-Katrina issue, asking "How Did This Happen?"

Facts are becoming clearer now, and there's been enough time to allow for some reflection. Questions have turned from "who," "what," "when," and "where" to "why" and "how." Specialized magazines publish articles about how Katrina affected their particular fields.

"The Lost City" (Newsweek, Sept. 12)

"Katrina Effort Sets the Stage for Retail Pharmacy's Finest Hour" (Drug Store News, Sept. 26)

"The Real Lessons of New Orleans" (Modern Healthcare, Sept. 26)

"Congress and Katrina Oversight" (Defense Monitor, Sept./Oct. issue)

"Katrina's Wrath Proof of a Tech Disconnect" (Hollywood Reporter, Sept. 6)

Popular Magazines

Popular magazines are written for a non-scholarly audience and usually have glossy pages and lots of pictures. Examples include Time, Newsweek, and People. As a general rule, if you see it in a waiting room or in the check-out line at the supermarket, it's a popular magazine. Below you will find information about finding popular magazines in the library's research databases, as well as through online archives.

Finding Magazines in the Research Databases

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) provides full text for more than 1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. To find articles from popular magazines, click the MasterFILE link above, then click on the MasterFILE Premier title to enter the database. Type your topic in the search box, click Search, then click Periodicals in the Source Types box to the left of the results to find articles from popular magazines.

 

Newsweek

Clicking the link above will take you to past issues of Newsweek. To search a particular issue, use the All Issues menu on the right side of the screen to select the year, then the volume/issue/date you would like to view. To search for a topic in all issues (1984-Present) at the same time, click the "Search within this publication" link above All Issues on the right side of the screen, then in the search box type the word and and your topic after JN "Newsweek".

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other Magazines

Clicking the link above will take you to the search box for Academic Search complete. To search within other popular magazines, type JN "title of magazine" in the search box, like you see in the Newsweek example above. For example, to search for a topic within Time magazine, type JN "Time" and your search topic in the search box. Magazines that you can search this way include Time, People, Newsweek, Entertainment Weekly, U.S. News & World Report, and USA Today.


Finding Magazines Online

Some popular magazines allow you to search the magazine's archives directly from their web site for articles or topics that have appeared in past issues. Below you will find direct links to the search boxes for some of these magazines. Others can be located by using an Internet search engine to search for the magazine you are looking for and the word "archive".

Popular vs. Scholarly

Telling apart scholarly journals and popular magazines isn't always easy, especially if you find them online instead of in print. This video gives you tips to help you determine which is which.

Also check out our guide to figuring out whether a journal is popular, scholarly, or trade.