Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

MBA: Management: Training, Leadership, Motivation

Research sources and tips for on-campus MBA's and Executive MBA's.

Articles

Virtually all research databases have applied and/or theoretical management information in them. (Everyone's a critic, right?) No surprise that business databases have some of the most informative and influential articles about management. Click on this link to see the full array of business databases available via BGSU libraries licensing agreements and contracts.

  Business Source Complete covers a wide range of print media but with a slight time lag in many cases.


Lexis Nexis Academic has broad and deep coverage of both general media and the business press.


PsycINFO:  If you need heavy-duty management literature, this is the place to look.  Don't be shy about asking for help with this complex and powerful search engine. 

Content:  Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as management.  Coverage begins with 1967. 

Search Tips: 

  • For  keyword searching, stick with the Basic search option on the landing page. (This overrides the "controlled vocabulary" or list of standard terms in the Thesaurus and lets you use emerging terminology in the field.)
  • To do a more sophisticated search, choose the Advanced search option link and then use mulitiple search boxes to combine terms as shown below.
  • In addition, scroll down to see various limit options such as limiting to empirical research, which is in the menu under Methodology.
  • Once you find a good article in this database, modifying the search by using the pulldown choice of classification code may be the best strategy for getting precisely what you want, (see screenshots below for examples.)

To find the classification code for the item you like, scroll down in the full record describing that article.

Add the classification code to your search to get more things pertinent to your topic.

Or try it by yourself. Enter a search term or several terms. Assuming that you retrieve more than 20 results, lconsider either entering more search terms or using more limit options. One to consider is excluding dissertations, which generally are very difficult to obtain.

Dissertations

The ELECTRONIC THESES AND DISSERTATIONS database contains theses and dissertations from many Ohio colleges and universities. Most authors have given permission for the content to be read, saved, or printed in full and you will see an icon labeled Download Full Text where such access has been granted.

OhioLINK's Worldwide ETD Search is a global index of freely available electronic theses and dissertations, provided by major ETD collections around the world. This index lets you search for information about each ETD (via tags including authors, titles, and abstracts). It does not search for your terms within the full text of the ETDs. But it does provide an electronic copy of items you have found through searching abstracts and titles.

  The DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS  database contains content from all over the world. Most of the time dissertations cannot be borrowed and thus must be purchased. Each entry has an abstract (summary), a preview of the contents, a list of figures, and a sample chapter to help you decide whether it is germane to your topic, and a link to purchasing information. As of July 2009, prices range from $36 for a web download to $70 for a hard cover paper copy.

Books

LIBRARY CATALOGS:   As mentioned on the home page of this guide, the BGSU and OhioLink catalogs are gateways to a wealth of information including printed and electronic books as well as music, videos, images and much more. Try a simple keyword search for global and leadership.

                                 

If you see something you like, click on the Find Similar Items tab in the catalog description to see if there is a specific subject headings for finding additional items pertinent to your research. But if the links to subject headings are broad, stick with the keyword search.