This collection compiles 20 of Desmond Dekker's most popular songs from the first 10 years of his musical career (1963-1973). The songs featured are performed in three musical genres: ska, rock steady, and reggae. The liner notes include a brief biography of Desmond Dekker's early career written by Harry Young.
This album contains 13 new recordings of Laurel Aitken’s best tracks. The liner notes include a biography and a timeline of Laurel Aitken’s career that help place the original recordings of the songs featured on this album in a historical context.
This record is a compilation of Jamaican ska songs that were popular in the United Kingdom. All of the tracks featured were at one time on the best seller charts and are representative of the artists who performed them.
"Dance the ska" is a collection of Byron Lee and the Dragonaires' most famous songs. Two tracks on this album (“Wings of a dove” and “Behold”) feature the popular Jamaican vocalists, the Blues Busters. The back of the record sleeve contains instructions and photographs illustrating how to properly perform the "ska step".
This album contains 8 tracks recorded 10 years after the Skatalites initially disbanded. The recordings feature 5 of the original Skatalites. The lyrics are heavily influenced by Rastafarianism but the music is strictly ska. The back sleeve contains a brief history of Jamaican ska and the Skatalites’ contribution to the genre.
"The Prophet" contains rare tracks recorded between 1963 and 1967 by Prince Buster and the Buster All Stars. The booklet includes a biography of Prince Buster and information about the record labels that distributed his music in England.
This compilation CD is a re-release of an album that was originally released in 1964. The recording contains 12 tracks performed by 5 different artists. The original liner notes are reprinted in the CD booklet.
This release contains 12 ska classics recorded by 7 different artists. Included on this record is the track "Simmer down" performed by the Wailers, a vocal trio consisting of Bob Marley, Bunny Wailer, and Peter Tosh.
This anthology contains 28 tracks recorded by the Ethiopians between 1966 and 1975. Despite the album’s title, the tracks are performed in rock steady and reggae, as well as in ska. The liner notes include a biography of the Ethiopians written by Laurence Cane-Honeysett.
Get help from the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives.