Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

GSW 1100/1110: Intensive Introduction to Academic Writing/Introduction to Academic Writing: Finding Articles

The resources listed on this page will help you to become familiar with your University Libraries at BGSU. If you have questions about the Library, feel free to speak with a librarian in person at the Research and Information Desk.

Video Tutorials

Generating Citations

There are two ways to generate a citation from within EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search Complete. CAUTION: These generators make mistakes more often than not. It is up to you to look over the citations that are generated very carefully and make modifications!!

Academic Search Complete

Research databases
Academic Search Complete is a huge database that covers many different disciplines. Many of the articles are from scholarly journals, and most of them are available in full text.

Tips for Searching in Academic Search Complete

Building Your Search:

  • Putting terms together with OR will expand your search and give you more results. Using AND will narrow your search and return fewer results.
  • If you're searching for a phrase, put it in quotation marks. To find articles about Dr. Seuss's One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, search for "one fish two fish red fish blue fish" instead of one fish two fish red fish blue fish.
  • More tips are in the help file, which you can always find by clicking the Help Iconbutton next to the search box.

Working with Your Results List:

  • You can also click on the Source Types on the left to get only journal articles, only books, only newspapers, etc.
  • Put a checkmark by Academic Journals on the left side of the screen to limit your results to scholarly journals.
  • Drag the sliders on the left side of the screen to limit your results to a particular date range.

When You Find an Article You Like:

  • If the HTML full text or PDF full text link isn't available for an article, click the Find It! button. You might still be able to get the full text through the library.
  • You can generate MLA citations , and email articles to yourself .

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Off-Campus Access

To access Academic Search Complete from off-campus, you'll need to enter your BGSU email username and password.