Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

COMM 2010: Communication Theory: Research in COMM

Use Communication and Mass Media Complete to Find Articles

Out of the hundreds of library research databases, the one most often used for communication studies topics is Communication and Mass Media Complete. This database offers full text for nearly 200 journals and abstracts for over 300 more.

Tips for searching for academic articles

  • Click on Communication and Mass Media Complete in the box above, and then click on the orange Connect button to enter the database
  • Enter your search terms
  • When your results come up in the database, click on "Academic Journals" on the left side of the results screen. This will eliminate SOME of the magazines/journals that are not appropriate for research assignments.
  • Select an article that interests you; check the name of the journal the article is published in to make sure it is on the instructor's approved list.
  • Note: Even if you limit to "Academic Journals" within the database, you still need to evaluate the article to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly article. You may stumble onto book reviews or editorials published within academic journals not considered appropriate for research.

Communication Theory Research

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory

Research Databases

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Film & Television Literature Index Full Text

Academic Search Complete

Journals

American Communication Journal

Argumentation and Advocacy

Asian Journal of Communication

Business Communication Quarterly

Canadian Journal of Communication

Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies

Communication, Culture, and Critique

Communication Education

Communication Monographs

Communication Quarterly

Communication Reports

Communication Research

Communication Research Reports

Communication Studies

Communication Teacher

Communication Theory

Communication Yearbook

Critical Discourse Studies

Critical Studies in Media Communication

Discourse & Communication

Discourse & Society

Environmental Communication

European Journal of Communication

Health Communication

Howard Journal of Communications

Human Communication Research

International Journal of Listening

Journal of Applied Communication Research

Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media

Journal of Business Communication

Journal of Communication

Journal of Communication Inquiry

Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication

Journal of Family Communication

Journal of Health Communication

Journal of Intercultural Communication Research

Journal of International and Intercultural Communication

Journal of Nonverbal Behavior

Journal of Public Relations Research

Journalism

Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly

KB Journal

Management Communication Quarterly

Mass Communication & Society

Media, Culture & Society

Philosophy & Rhetoric

Political Communication

Popular Communication

Public Relations Quarterly

Qualitative Research Reports in Communication

Quarterly Journal of Speech

Review of Communication

Rhetoric & Public Affairs

Rhetoric Review

Rhetoric Society Quarterly

Southern Communication Journal

Technical Communication Quarterly

Television & New Media

Text and Performance Quarterly

Visual Communication

Western Journal of Communication

Women’s Studies in Communication

Need to know more about Annotated Bibliographies?

Try this web site from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab!