Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Organization Development: Finding Articles

Created for researching organization development and related topics.

Library Research Databases (PsycINFO & Business Source Complete)

PsycINFO and Business Source Complete are the primary databases available at BGSU that cover the academic literature within Organizational Development.   For additional databases visit the Research Databases page.

PsycINFO

Content:  Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as management.  Coverage begins with 1967. 

Search Tips: 

  • For  keyword searching, stick with the Basic search option on the landing page. (This overrides the "controlled vocabulary" or list of standard terms in the Thesaurus and lets you use emerging terminology in the field.)
  • To do a more sophisticated search, choose the Advanced search option link and then use mulitiple search boxes to combine terms as shown below.
  • In addition, scroll down to see various limit options such as limiting to empirical research, which is in the menu under Methodology. 

  • Once you find a good articleIn this database, modifying the search by using the pulldown choice of classification code may be the best strategy for getting precisely what you want, (see screenshots below for examples.)

To find the classification code for the item you like, scroll down in the full record describing that article.

Add the classification code to your search to get more things pertinent to your topic.

  • And if you're still not finding what you need the first few times you work in this database, don't be shy about asking library staff for help.

Scholarly Sources

The tab Evaluating and Citing Sources leads to a very complete discussion but here are some quick tips for locating scholarly or peer reviewed resources:

What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:

  • generally focus on scholarly research
  • are written by experts in the field or discipline
  • are critically reviewed  by other experts before publication
  • contain cited references to the information sources used

How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

  •    The Summon discovery tool on the library home page allows you to limit to scholarly material.

 

  • Several of the library's specific databases

(e.g.      Academic Search Complete,     Business Source Complete, and PsycInfo)

contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search as well. 

  • If doubtful, check the Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory database to see if an article that you have found is in a peer reviewed or scholarly journal.
  • In some disciplines, differences between scholarly and trade publications are not crystal clear. Your teacher is the final arbiter of what is scholarly in a specific academic field of study.  

Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications and examples of each type.


Electronic Delivery of Print Articles

 Distance Education Students:   Requesting an electronic copy of an article or book chapter only available in print:

  • If an article or book chapter is not available in electronic full text but BGSU owns the print copy, enter details about the citation into a form on ILLiad  to receive a copy of the text electronically.
  • Let us know you're a remote user.  Add text in the note field of each request in ILLIAD that you are a "distance education student."
  • Items not owned by BGSU in any format  can also be requested from ILLiad. See estimated delivery times below.

 Turn Around Times For ILLiad Requests

  • Articles from BGSU: 1 Business Day
  • Articles from other OhioLink Institutions: Approximately 2 Weeks.
  • Articles from outside the OhioLink system: average of 17 days.

For more information about borrowing things we don't have, email Illiad staff at ill@bgsu.edu.