Film and Soundtrack resources at BGSU Music Library
The Music Library and Bill Schurk Sound Archives has a strong collection of film and soundtrack resources, including books and periodicals about film music, scores for films, and recordings of film and television soundtracks.
How to use this LibGuide
This is a guide to film and television music resources at MLBSSA, including critical studies, composer biographies, instructional resources, sound recordings, and archival materials.
This LibGuide can be an excellent source for those who are interested in film music, researching for a project or class, or are composing their own film scores. If you are researching, you can find databases on this page and the additional resources page. If you are composing your own work, the best place to find material would be on the instructional materials and composer biographies page.
Browsing
photo credit: "Celebrating Judy Garland and Toto" by tiarescott
The following are selected call number ranges where film music materials may be found. For more specific call numbers, consult the library catalog.
| Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
| M 1527.2 | film music scores |
| ML 102 .M75 | dictionaries of film music |
| ML 410 .A-.Z | biographies of individual composers |
| ML 2075 | film music history & criticism |
| MT 64 .M65 | film music instruction & study |
| MT 737 | film music instruction & study |
| mulPN 1995.9 .M86 | musical films |
Internet Resources
- SoundtrackNet: The Art of Film and Television MusicProvides news features, an extensive listing of film composers (including up-to-date filmographies), reviews of soundtracks, and information regarding the availability of soundtrack recordings.
- Film Score Monthly: The Online Magazine of Motion Picture and Television Music AppreciationContains articles, answers to frequently-asked questions, and links to many other film and film music sites.
- Soundtrack CollectorProvides industry news, links to other film music sites, and a soundtrack database that can be browsed by title or composer.
- Music from the MoviesProvides news, reviews, composer information, and links to related sites.
- FilmTracks: Modern Soundtrack ReviewsProvides reviews of contemporary film soundtracks.
- FILMUS-LFILMUS-L was an online discussion list devoted to film and television music. While it is no longer active, a searchable archive of the list is still available.
Ask your sound archivist
Finding Magazine Articles: Print and Online Periodical Indexes
- New York Times Historical1851-2004.
Indexing for more recent issues of the New York Times is available via various databases, including Newspaper Source.
Searching for Material
For a general search, you can access the catalog.
The following are a few examples of subject headings related to film music which you may find useful.
When searching, you can "modify" your search by using the toolbars at the bottom of the search bar. You can limit your searches to books, periodicals, CDs, etc. You can also use the chat function on the library's website to talk with a music librarian to help you in your search.
Editor of LibGuide
Natalie Stitak, intern. (She, her, hers)
Music Library & Bill Schurk Archives Intern, 2021