Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

COMM 1020: Introduction to Public Speaking: Research & Resources

Summon

Summon_big

Summon provides an easy, simple to use discovery interface to search across 80% of our library content with just a few keywords. You can change the publication dates, limit your results to full text, to scholarly materials, or to any combination of document types.

Research Databases for Finding Information about Speech Topics

You may want to begin by doing some background research on your topic.  The following databases provide short readings on topics, newspaper/magazine articles, pro/con discussions, and counterpoints. 

More Specialized Library Research Databases/ Scholarly Articles

You can search all of EBSCO to identify scholarly and non-scholarly articles. However, you may have better results if you use a more specialized article database depending on how discipline-specific your topic is. For example, if you select a topic that has something to do with teacher compensation at charter schools, using an education database will mostly return results from an education-related perspective. Below are a few specialized databases.  You can also use our full listing of databases.

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ

What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:

  • generally focus on scholarly research
  • are written by experts in the field or discipline
  • are critically reviewed  by other experts before publication
  • contain cited references to the information sources used

How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?

Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.