Access NewspaperARCHIVE provides access to hundreds of newspapers published between the 18th century and 2006.
To see a list of available newspapers published in a particular year, click on Browse by Date, near the top of the page.
Scroll down the page and click on either 1900s Newspaper Archives or 2000s Newspaper Archives.
Scroll down the page and click on the desired year.
Scroll down to see the list of newspapers and click on the title you want to use. You'll see a list of the issues published by that newspaper in the year you chose.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 includes the full text of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states dating from 1827 to 1998 and published by African Americans.
To find a newspaper from a particular year, click on the Newspaper Titles tab.
You can order the titles by a particular column by clicking on the title of that column. This allows you to re-order the titles by State, City, Pub. Start Date, or Pub. End Date.
Click on the title of the desired newspaper to see a list of the available years.
Click on the desired year (available years are highlighted in green).
Click on the desired issue of the newspaper (available dates are highlighted in green).
Chronicling America is a free web site from the Library of Congress that provides full text newspapers published in the United States between 1789 and 1963.
To find a newspaper from a particular location, click on the tab titled All Digitized Newspapers 1789-1963.
Choose the state and/or ethnicity and/or language of the newspaper and click on the GO button to see a list of newspapers that fit your criteria.
For instance, the Ohio newspapers are listed on this page. A list of African American newspapers is available at this page. The listing for each newspaper includes the earliest issue and the last issue.
Choose a newspaper that will include at least one issue from the desired year and then click on the Browse Issues icon for that newspaper. You'll see a page that includes calendars for each month of the year that includes the earliest issues.
Click on the drop down box next to Issues For: and choose the year you want. The calendars will appear for that year and you can choose the issue you wish to see.
Want to find additional newspapers, whether they're microfilm, microfiche, or online?
The Newspapers LibGuide links to thousands of newspaper sources.