HIST 3223: American Revolutionary Era 1763-1789: Microforms

Reproductions of books published in America from 1493 to 1806. These books are on many different topics. The BGSU Libraries own only Series I of the American Culture Series, which covers books published 1493-1806.

To locate titles issued on microfilm see "American fiction, 1774-1900: cumulative author index to the microfilm collection"-- Ref. Z1231.F4W9 1948

Papers of the Calvert family, the English family that founded the province of Maryland during the 16th and 17th centuries. The collection covers 1516-1805 and includes family papers; documents relating to the Avalon, Virginia, and Maryland colonies; land, financial and government records; papers dealing with the Maryland-Pennsylvania boundary dispute; correspondence; and miscellaneous documents.

Works and papers collected by Lyman Draper on the history of the trans-Allegheny West. This area includes portions of the Carolinas, Virginia, Georgia, Alabama, the entire Ohio River Valley and the Mississippi Valley. Most materials cover the time period from the 1740's through the 1810's. There are nearly 500 volumes in this collection.

Materials represented in this collection include letters, legal documents, maps, journals and diaries, family and personal records, business records, land records, court martial lists, muster rolls, order books, interviews, transcribed newspaper and periodical articles, etc.

From the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Libraries, Segment I. The reports are divided into five categories: archaeology, architecture, decorative arts, history, trades

Originally published by The American Antiquarian Society, Worcester, Mass
Contains complete text of every extant book, pamphlet and broadside printed in the U. S. from 1639 to the end of the year 1800. Keyed to Charles Evans, American Bibliography and in numerical sequence by Evans number. First series

Photographs and written historical and descriptive data prepared by the Historic American Buildings Survey, Office of Archeology and Historic Preservation, National Park Service

This was the first society organized to promote the abolition of slavery in what became the United States. It was founded in 1775 under its president, Benjamin Franklin. This collection includes the Society's constitution, minutes from 1797 to 1868 and a collection of manuscripts.

Records of Louisiana, Arkansas, and Mississippi plantations from the 18th to the early 20th centuries. These records include diaries, journals, correspondence, maps, invoices, cash books, and other materials about family history and plantation business. The fiche labeled "Slavery Collection" include information on slave auctions. Information about freedmen is available in the papers of Norbert Badin, a free African American farmer, and the papers of Atala Chelette.

Ratified Indian treaties, 1722-1869, with papers related to the treaties. These papers include Presidential proclamations, Senate resolutions, messages from the President to the U.S. Senate, messages to treaty commissioners, journals, and correspondence. Not all of these items will be present for every treaty.

Reproductions of 1,174 travel accounts, geographies, atlases, surveys, statistical accounts, and descriptions of the animals and plants of the old South. There are also a few travel accounts of countries such as Cuba, Canada, and Mexico and of other parts of the United States such as Ohio. The collection includes books about Native Americans, slavery, and biographies or memoirs of various men and women. These works were published between 1527 and 1860.

Papers of William Gaston and Judge Henry Groves Connor. William Gaston (1778-1844) was a North Carolina lawyer, member of the North Carolina legislature, a member of the U.S. House of Representatives 1814-1817, and a North Carolina Supreme Court Justice 1833-1844. He was active in the Catholic Church and was against slavery. He carried on correspondence with a wide variety of people, including Justice John Marshall, Washington Irving, and Daniel Webster.