Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Spanish Language & Hispanic Studies: SPAN 3510/SPAN 3520

A resource guide for faculty and students in the Spanish Section of the Department of Romance & Classical Studies at BGSU.

Finding Articles Written in Spanish

The University Libraries has a considerable amount of information written in Spanish.  In many cases, you can conduct your search in English and limit your results to Spanish language.  I give specific directions for limiting to Spanish in each of the recommended databases. Search in both English and Spanish to be thorough.

Start by searching for articles in Summon and, if you're not finding enough information, branch out and search for books.

 
 

Summon Limited to Spanish-Language Materials only

Summon_big

 

Type in your keywords and get started!

Core Database: Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, of which 4,400 are peer-reviewed journals.  This is a great resource for finding articles on any topic. Indexing and abstracting in this database is in English, even when an article is written in another language.

To find articles written in Spanish, select the advanced search option, conduct your search in English, and then, limit the language to Spanish. Another strategy is to search using Spanish words.  For your search to be comprehensive, you will want to search both ways.

Core Database: Lexis-Nexis Academic

Lexis-Nexis Academic is a a great database for business and legal research.  However, in this class, you will use it to find full-text newspaper articles from around the world.  

To find Spanish-language articles, follow these steps once you connect to the database:

  1. Select "NEWS" in the blue, left-hand sidebar.
  2. Select "Foreign Language" on in the next screen. 
  3. Enter your terms in the "Search for" box(es) and select "Spanish" from the Language pull-down menu. HINT: Limit keywords to headline and lead to increase relevancy

    Want to see an example? Watch this brief screencast of a search: Sample Search for Articles in Spanish

Other Databases to Consider

Depending on your topic, you may want to search one of the following databases.   All of these databases have some Spanish-language materials.


America: History & Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL contains abstracts and citations for articles published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.

> Research Tip: To find articles written in Spanish, select the advanced search option, conduct your search in English, and then, limit the language to Spanish. Another strategy is to search using Spanish words.  For your search to be comprehensive, you will want to search both ways.


Art Abstracts/Full Text
Indexes international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Entries in the database also cite any art reproductions used to illustrate articles and advertisements, under the artists' names and covers titles published in European languages, as well as English-language sources.

> Research Tip: Click on Show Limit Options and choose Spanish from the drop-down Language box.


Economia y Negocios 
This database is produced in Peru by ESAN (Escuela de Administración de Negocios para Graduados), the oldest graduate school of business in the Spanish-speaking world. This Spanish-language database focuses on business and economics, and contains articles from the early 1980s to now, and includes  periodicals published in Latin America and Spain.

All in Spanish.


Education Research Complete
A comprehensive database of articles about all fields of education, including curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

Most of the articles in the database are in English, but some are in Spanish.

> Research Tip: To find articles written in Spanish, select the advanced search option, conduct your search in English, and then, limit the language to Spanish. Another strategy is to search using Spanish words.  For your search to be comprehensive, you will want to search both ways.


Ethnic NewsWatch
A full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press of the United States. The database provides articles from publications in English and Spanish and is completely searchable in both languages.

> Research Tip: Use the Document Language drop-down search box on the Advanced Search page.

Bonus! View a short video of a search for articles.


Fuente Academica
A unique collection of scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This database provides full text coverage for nearly 200 scholarly Spanish language journals. Almost all content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide.

Mostly in Spanish


Humanities International Complete
A searchable database of the full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all fields of the humanities.

Most of the articles in the database are in English, but some are in Spanish.

> Research Tip: To find articles written in Spanish, select the advanced search option, conduct your search in English, and then, limit the language to Spanish. Another strategy is to search using Spanish words.  For your search to be comprehensive, you will want to search both ways.


International Political Science Abstracts
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database covers nearly 900 journals published from 1989 to the present.

> Research Tip: Use Spanish search terms to retrieve articles written in Spanish.  There is no search option for limiting to Spanish in this database.

 
 

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Finding Books

For your project, you may want to use articles because they tend to be shorter and more focused than a book.  However, books can be a great source of background information.  Visit the Finding Books link to learn more about accessing materials via the BGSU Libraries or OhioLINK:

Google Scholar