Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

English Literature Studies: Journals & Articles

A guide to English literature and literary criticism.

Core databases for finding articles

Other databases

E-Journals

Do you want to find out if a particular journal is available electronically? Use this tool to explore BGSU's e-journal holdings.

Search by title or ISSN

Peer Review

Want to know more about the differences between magazines and peer-reviewed journals? Consult this web page created by the BGSU Libraries:

Selected journals for literature & criticism

English Language Notes
Covers special topics in literary and cultural studies, particularly interdisciplinary and collaborative work between literary and other fields. In print at Jerome Library and full text online in EBSCO.

 

PMLA
A core title in literature, publishing scholarly essays on language and literature. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online.
Modern Language Review
Scholarship on European (including Latin American) languages, literatures and cultures. Full text online in JSTOR (1905-present).
Nineteenth Century Literature
Publishes research concerning English and American 19th century authors. Full text online in JSTOR (to 2015) and at the University of California Press (to present).
Review of Contemporary Fiction
Critical essays on unconventional and overlooked writers of contemporary fiction. In print at Jerome Library and full text online in EBSCO.
Speculum
A journal of medieval studies publsihing scholarly research on all aspects of the Middle Ages. Full text online.

Selected journals for research in rhetoric & writing

College Composition & Communication
A forum for critical work on the study and teaching of college-level composition and reading. In print at Jerome Library and full text online.

 

College English
Publishes scholarly work related to the teaching of college English, including literature, linguistics, literacy, critical theory, rhetoric and composition. In print at Jerome Library and full text online.
Computers & Composition
Articles discussing pedagogical, psychological and social aspects of the use of computers in writing classes, programs and research. Full text online.
JAC: A Journal of Composition Theory
A forum for scholars interested in theoretical approaches to the interdisciplinary study of rhetoric, culture, and politics. Full text online in JSTOR (to 2012) and in print at Jerome Library.
Journal of Teaching Writing
Publishes articles on the theory, practice, and teaching of writing throughout the curriculum. In print at Jerome Library and full text online (to 2 years ago).
Research in the Teaching of English
Publishes scholarly articles on literacy issues and research on the teaching of English worldwide. In print at Jerome Library and full text online.

Selected literary reviews publishing creative writing

Chicago Review
Poetry, fiction, essays and some photography. In print at Jerome Library and full text online in EBSCO.

Granta
A literary journal publishing new writing in fiction, poetry, criticism and essays. In print at Jerome Library.
Iowa Review
Publishes original fiction, poetry and essays. In print at Jerome Library and full text online in EBSCO.
Kenyon Review
Publishes fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry. Full text online in JSTOR (to 4 years ago) and in print in Jerome Library.
Ploughshares
A forum for new fiction, poetry and prose by established and up-and-coming writers. Full text online in JSTOR (to 3 years ago) and in print at Jerome Library.
Poetry
An important magazine publishing new work by established and emerging poets. In print at Jerome Library and full text online in JSTOR (to 4 years ago).