Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

English Literature Studies: Author Biographies

A guide to English literature and literary criticism.

Author Information

Need to know about a writer? If a biography or an autobiography exists, you may find it by searching the author's name in the library catalog. If book-length information doesn't exist on an author, you'll need a new strategy. Check out these possibilities for searching out biographical information within collections on authors.

Recommended Databases and Website

Recommended Reference Books

Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English provides biographical information on women writing in English throughout the world and from the Middle Ages to present day.

Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources presents the lives and literary contributions of famous poets and unfamiliar poets with multicultural backgrounds. Full bibliographic information following each entry will help users locate the collections and anthologies.

Contemporary Poets provides biographical and bibliographic information as well as brief critical essays on 787 poets.

Contemporary Women Poets provides biographical, bibliographic, and critical entries on nearly 250 of the most prominent women poets currently writing and or publishing in the English language today.

Critical Survey of Poetry provides biographies, analyses, and bibliographies for 698 poets. Also included are critical essays on broad subjects, such as "Native American Poetry," "Feminist Criticism," etc. Coverage is worldwide and begins in the 13th century. 8 volumes.

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.