Skip to main content
Search this Guide
Country Information: Special Topics
This guide gathers together databases, web sites, books, and other resources on countries worldwide.
Selected Web Sites
Annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom
Annual report about the degree of religious freedom in countries worldwide. From the U.S. State Department.
Constitute: The World's Constitutions to Read, Search, and Compare
Energy data for countries worldwide. From the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
Country Reports on Terrorism
Reports on terrorism in countries worldwide. From the U.S. State Department.
Culture Crossing Guide
A guide to business etiquette for countries worldwide, including forms of greeting, gestures, personal space, etc.
Education for the 21st Century
Information about education in countries worldwide. From UNESCO.
Freedom in the World
Data on freedom and human rights. From Freedom House.
Human Rights Reports
Annual report about human rights in countries worldwide. From the U.S. State Department.
Human Rights Watch: Reports
Reports on human rights in countries worldwide. From Human Rights Watch.
Index of Economic Freedom
An index that gives an assessment of the level of economic freedom in a country, from the Heritage Foundation.
International Data Explorer (Education)
International data about education. From the U.S. Education Department's National Center for Education Statistics.
International Energy Agency: Statistics
Data on energy from the International Energy Agency.
International Justice Statistics
Links to U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics publications on international crime and justice. Also links to international organizations and country justice agencies.
A database of documents from the International Labour Organization
Law and Government Resources for Countries
Links to information about law and government for countries worldwide. From HG.org.
Law Library of Congress: Nations
Links to information about law in countries worldwide. From the Library of Congress.
Learn About Your Destination
Country reports about conditions that might affect the health and safety of travelers. From the U.S. State Department.
Assessments about the degree of poverty in countries. From the World Bank.
Documents, country reports and profiles, etc. from the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Stockhold International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
Information about international relations, armed forces, security, human rights, nuclear weapons, etc.
A database of commodity trade data, such as the amount of commodity X exported from country A to country B in Year Z.
UNICEF Country Statistics
Country reports on the status of children. From UNICEF.
WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
Database of health information for countries worldwide. From the World Health Organization.
World Criminal Justice Library Network: Statistical Sources
Links to country-specific sites with data about criminal justice.
WWW VL: International Affairs Links
Links to more than 2,000 Internet sites on International Affairs.
Need a Map?
David Rumsey Map Collection
Current and historical maps for countries worldwide
Library of Congress: General Maps
A database of thousands of maps, from the Library of Congress
Mapmaker One Page Maps
One page maps of countries from National Geographic.
Maps: National Geographic
Links to various kinds of maps from National Geographic.
Maps and Earth Images (WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs)
Perry-Casteneda Library Map Collection
Collection of many maps for countries and regions worldwide. From the University of Texas at Austin.
Looking for Embassies?
Links to embassies in Washington, DC.
Links to embassy web sites
Search Engines for Documents of International Organizations
Intergovernmental Organization Search Engine
Searches the Internet sites of a wide variety of International Government organizations.
Official Documents Systems Search (ODS)
Search engine for UN documents.
A search engine for United Nations documents.
A search engine for documents of UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization)
Ask Us! >>
Jul 10, 2018 1:40 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Political Science & Public Administration
Statistical Facts & Data
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.