Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Vocal Music and Songs: Popular Song Indexes

Guide to finding vocal music, including songs in anthologies, in the music library

Music Library Links

All Research Guides for Music

Music Library (ML/BSSA) Home
About the ML/BSSA
Basics of Using the ML/BSSA
Frequently Asked Questions
Services
Hours
Directions
Contact

News & Tips 

 

Search Oxford Music Online

MLBSSA blog BGSU Libraries Flickr MLBSSA Facebook MLBSSA Twitter MLBSSA Pinterest Sleevefacing Tumblr

Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology

Other Online Indexes

Download PDF files of other indexes to Hal Leonard publications from their vocal music site.

Name that Tune

Using a Song Index

Frequently, songs that are included in anthologies are not listed individually in the online catalog and therefore are not findable using either keyword or title searches (see, for instance, The Beatles: The Complete Scores). Song indexes include lists of songs – sometimes arranged by song title, sometimes arranged by composer, sometimes both – and provide cross-references for the anthologies that include each song.

To identify song titles in collections, start with the song indexes listed here.  Look up the song by title, composer, first line, or whatever information you have.  There will be some sort of code that represents the anthology (or anthologies) that contain that song; look in the front of the index for a key that will tell you which anthology corresponds to which code.  When a collection containing the desired song is identified, search the BGSU Libraries Catalog by the anthology title to determine if BGSU owns the collection. Don't despair if we do not! Return to the song indexes and search further, or try your search in the OhioLINK Statewide Catalog to see if one of the libraries in the OhioLINK system owns the collection.

                            

Popular Song Indexes

Some of these resources are located in the Music Library's reference section, and can only be used within the library. Click on the title to check the location and availability.