This is the "Fiction Big Books" page of the "Big Books in the Curriculum Resource Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Big Books in the Curriculum Resource Center   Tags: big books, children's literature, crc, early childhood education, k-12  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/bigbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Fiction Big Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Big Books: Fiction

Cover Art
12 Circus Rings - Seymour Chwast
Introduces the numbers from one to twelve using the animals, acrobats, and clowns at the circus

Cover Art
Abuela - by Arthur Dorros ; illustrated by Elisa Kleven
While riding on a bus with her grandmother, a little girl imagines that they are carried up into the sky and fly over the sights of New York City.

Cover Art
Animals at the farm = Animales de granja - by Gladys Rosa-Mendoza ; illustrations by Jason Wolff
Introduces and identifies various animals encountered on a farm.

Cover Art
Anno's Counting Book - Mitsumasa Anno
A counting book depicting the growth in a village and surrounding countryside during twelve months

Cover Art
Aunt Flossie's Hats (and Crab Cakes Later) - Aunt Flossie's hats (and crab cakes later) / by Elizabeth Fitzgerald Howard ; paintings by James Ransome
Sara and Susan share tea, cookies, crab cakes, and stories about hats when they visit their favorite relative, Aunt Flossie

Cover Art
Barnyard Banter - Denise Fleming
All the farm animals are where they should be, clucking and mucking, mewing and cooing, except for the missing goose

Cover Art
Can't You Sleep, Little Bear - by Martin Waddell; illustrated by Barbara Firth
When bedtime comes Little Bear is afraid of the dark, until Big Bear brings him lights and love


Cover Art
Chair for my Mother - Vera B. Williams
A child, her waitress mother, and her grandmother save dimes to buy a comfortable armchair after all their furniture is lost in a fire


Cover Art
Colors of Us - Karen Katz
Seven-year-old Lena and her mother observe the variations in the color of their friends' skin, viewed in terms of foods and things found in nature

Cover Art
Cookie's Week - Cindy Ward
This sweet and simple tale of a mischievous kitten's antics through each day of the week will appeal to children and feline fanatics of all ages. Readers who have experienced the joys and frustrations of raising a kitten will especially appreciate the warmth and humor in Cookie's simultaneously naughty and innocent romp through the house.

Cover Art
Cow That Went Oink - Bernard Most
A cow that oinks and a pig that moos are ridiculed by the other barnyard animals until each teaches the other a new sound.

This is part of a kit that contains teaching materials.

Cover Art
Dark, Dark Tale: Story and Pictures - Ruth Brown
What's inside the dark, dark cupboard in the dark, dark room of the dark, dark house?

Cover Art
Dinosaurs, Dinosaurs - Byron Barton
This big book is part of a kit that contains teaching resources.


Cover Art
Elmer - David McKee
Elmer the elephant, a colorful character because of his patchwork hide and sense of humor, tries to blend in with the herd, but soon realizes that he's happiest just being himself.

Cover Art
Empty Pot - Demi
Folklore from China

Cover Art
Farmer Duck - written by Martin Waddell ; illustrated by Helen Oxenbury
When a kind and hardworking duck nearly collapses from overwork, while taking care of a farm because the owner is too lazy to do so, the rest of the animals get together and chase the farmer out of town

Cover Art
Feathers for Lunch - Lois Ehlert
An escaped housecat encounters twelve birds in the backyard, but fails to catch any of them and has to eat feathers for lunch

First Day of School - written by Kim Jackson ; illustrated by Joan E. Goodman
Although she is a little apprehensive at first, Cindy enjoys her first day at school

Cover Art
First Dog - written and illustrated by Jan Brett
Kip the cave boy and Paleowolf each face hunger and danger on a journey in Paleolithic times; when they decide to join forces and help one another, Paleowolf becomes the first dog

Cover Art
Freight Train - Donald Crews
Brief text and illustrations describe the multicolored cars of a freight train moving across the countryside

 

More Big Books: Fiction

Cover Art
Grouchy Ladybug - Eric Carle
A grouchy ladybug who is looking for a fight challenges everyone she meets regardless of their size or strength

Cover Art
Growing Vegetable Soup - written and illustrated by Lois Ehlert
A father and child grow vegetables and then make them into a soup

Cover Art
Here are My Hands - Bill Martin Jr and John Archambault
The owner of a human body celebrates it by pointing out various parts and mentioning their functions, from "hands for catching and throwing" to the "skin that bundles me in."

Cover Art
How Much is a Million? - David M. Schwartz
Text and pictures try to make possible the conceptualization of a million, a billion and a trillion

Cover Art
I Love Animals - Flora McDonnell
A girl names all the animals she likes on her farm, from Jock the dog to the pig and her piglets

Cover Art
If You Give A Moose A Muffin - Laura Joffe Numeroff
This big book is part of a kit that contains teaching materials.

Cover Art
If You Give a Moose a Muffin - by Laura Joffe Numeroff ; illustrated by Felicia Bond
Chaos can ensue if you give a moose a muffin and start him on a cycle of urgent requests


Cover Art
If You Give A Mouse A Cookie - Laura Joffe Numeroff
This book is part of a kit that contains teaching materials.

Cover Art
If You Give a Mouse a Cookie - Laura Joffe Numeroff ; illustrated by Felicia Bond
Relating the cycle of requests a mouse is likely to make after you give him a cookie takes the reader through a young child's day

Cover Art
If You Give a Pig a Pancake - by Laura Numeroff ; illustrated by Felicia Bond
One thing leads to another when you give a pig a pancake

Cover Art
In the Tall, Tall Grass - Denise Fleming
Rhymed text presents a toddler's view of creatures found in the grass from lunchtime until nightfall, such as ants, bees, and moles

Cover Art
Is Your Mama A Llama - Deborah Guarino
A young llama asks his friends if their mamas are llamas and finds out, in rhyme, that their mothers are other types of animals

Cover Art
King Bidgood's in the Bathtub - written by Audrey Wood ; illustrated by Don Wood
Despite pleas from his court, a fun-loving king refuses to get out of his bathtub to rule his kingdom

Little Old Woman and the Hungry Cat - Nancy Polette ; pictures by Frank Modell
A hungry cat eats everyone he sees, until he swallows the little old woman who owns him and she takes steps to put a stop to his gluttony

Cover Art
Little Red Hen - Byron Barton
The little red hen finds none of her lazy friends willing to help her plant, harvest, or grind wheat into flour, but all are eager to eat the bread she makes from it

Cover Art
Mean Soup - Betsy Everitt
Horace feels really mean at the end of a bad day, until he helps his mother make Mean Soup

Cover Art
Mitten : A Ukrainian Folktale - adapted and illustrated by Jan Brett
A retelling of the traditional tale of how a boy's lost mitten becomes a refuge from the cold for an increasing number of animals

Cover Art
Mouse Paint - Ellen Stoll Walsh
This book is part of a kit that contains teaching resources.

Cover Art
Napping House - Audrey Wood ; illustrated by Don Wood
In this cumulative tale, a wakeful flea atop a number of sleeping creatures causes a commotion, with just one bite

Niki's Walk - Jane Tanner
In this wordless tale, Niki and her mother take a walk through town and visit shops, have fun at a birthday party in the park, and see a construction site

Cover Art
No, David! - by David Shannon
A young boy is depicted doing a variety of naughty things for which he is repeatedly admonished, but finally he gets a hug

One Red Rooster - Kathleen Sullivan Carroll ; illustrated by Suzette Barbier
Introduces the numbers one through ten in rhymed text and illustrations of a variety of rather noisy farm animals

 

Even More Big Books: Fiction

Over the River and Through the Wood - Lydia Maria Child ; illustrated by Iris Van Rynbach
An illustrated version of the poem that became a well-known song about a journey through the snow to grandfather's house for Thanksgiving dinner

Cover Art
Paul Bunyan, a Tall Tale - retold and illustrated by Steven Kellogg
Recounts the life of the extraordinary lumberjack whose unusual size and strength brought him many fantastic adventures

Cover Art
Pig in the Pond - Martin Waddell ; illustrated by Jill Barton
An overheated pig who doesn't swim, throws himself into a pond, throwing the farmyard into an uproar

Cover Art
Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? - Bill Martin, Jr. ; pictures by Eric Carle
Zoo animals from polar bear to walrus make their distinctive sounds for each other, while children imitate the sounds for the zookeeper

Cover Art
Polar Bear, Polar Bear, What Do You Hear? - Bill Martin
This book is part of a kit that contains teaching resources.

Cover Art
Pumpkin, Pumpkin - by Jeanne Titherington
Jamie plants a pumpkin seed and, after watching it grow, carves it, and saves some seeds to plant in the spring

Cover Art
Rainbow Fish to the Rescue - Marcus Pfister ; translated by J Alison James
Although his friends want to ignore the new striped fish in their midst, Rainbow Fish must decide whether to help him when a shark attacks

Read together books in Spanish - Auckland, New Zealand : Shortland Pubs., 1987
Kit contains 12 copies of each easy to read together Spanish title. Titles are also available in big books

Cover Art
Red Leaf, Yellow Leaf - Lois Ehlert
A child describes the growth of a maple tree from seed to sapling

Cover Art
Right Number of Elephants - story by Jeff Sheppard; pictures by Felicia Bond
Aa counting book in which a little girl relies on the help of some eager elephants


Cover Art
Silly Sally - Audrey Wood
A rhyming story of Silly Sally, who makes many friends as she travels to town-- backward and upside down


Vegetable Garden - Melvin Berger
Children plant and care for a vegetable garden, from choosing seeds to eating the vegetables

Cover Art
Very Hungry Caterpillar - Eric Carle
Follows the progress of a hungry little caterpillar as he eats his way through a varied and very large quantity of food until, full at last, he forms a cocoon around himself and goes to sleep


Cover Art
What I Like About Me! : A Book Celebrating Differences - illustrated by Mike Sakamoto
Kids are as different as night and day. And, guess what? They love it. Some adore the fact that their braces dazzle and gleam, others feel distinguished when they wear their glasses. Still others wouldn't trade their big feet for a lifetime of free video games. Includes a mylar mirror embedded in the last page to let kids take a look at themselves and decide what they like best about themselves.

Cover Art
Where's My Teddy? - Jez Alborough
When a small boy named Eddie goes searching for his lost teddy in the dark woods, he comes across a gigantic bear with a similar problem

Cover Art
You'll Soon Grow into Them, Titch - Pat Hutchins
The table turns at last for Titch, who has been inheriting his older siblings' outgrown clothes

Cover Art
Zomo the Rabbit: A Trickster Tale from West Africa - Gerald McDermott
Zomo the Rabbit, an African trickster, sets out to gain wisdom

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip