BGSU
Home Academics Admissions The Arts Athletics Libraries Offices
Admin Sign In 

BGSU 1000: Business 

This guide will focus on the basics of researching business topics and especially ethical issues.
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/bgsu_1000_business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Welcome

Welcome, BGSU 1000 students! This class webpage will direct you to recommended sources for finding information about companies, consumers, products, and competition for your assignments. Also country and cultural information. Options for getting professional assistance are listed at the right side of the screen, including one-on-one help:

Individual Research Appointments (IRA's) for Undergraduates  

If Professor Wood is unavailable, scheduling an IRA with another librarian might work for you. A limited number of hour-long, one-on-one appointments are available weekly at the beginning and end of the semester. Call (419) 372-6943 or stop at the Research and Information Desk to get contact information for the person assigned to these consultations. All of us have experience with BA 2030 assignments.  

Intensive IRA's, when all reference and instruction librarians are available several times a week, start this semester on October 26 and run through November 20.

 

How Do I Cite My Sources?

How do I cite items from a print-based source vs. a digital copy from a research database using MLA?

 

ARTICLES: (in-print sources)

Le Vine, Steve. “Pipeline Wars.” Business Week 25 Aug. 2008: 15-19. Print. 

ARTICLES FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE:  (Full text sources)

(First example is a Journal article, second example a Magazine, third a Newspaper article.) 

Messner, Michael.  “Barbie Girls versus Sea Monsters: Children Constructing Gender.”  Gender and

            Society  14.6 (2000): 765-84.   JSTOR. Web.18 May 2004. 

Grossman, Jeff.  “Maintain Your Brain.”  Psychology Today May-June 2004: 26.  Academic Search

            Complete.  Web.18 May 2004. 

Vranica, Suzanne. “For Olympic Marketers, Emotions Pay.” Wall Street Journal 18 Aug. 2008: B1. Factiva.

            Web. 18 Aug. 2008. 

REPORTS OR BOOK SECTIONS FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE (full text sources)

Give individual or corporate author if listed. Then the report title. Then the publication date if listed (n.d. if none is given).  

Corporate author:

Datamonitor. “Microsoft Corporation Company Profile”. 13 May 2008. Business Source Complete. Web.

            18 Aug. 2008. 

No author listed

“Microsoft Corporation”. Hoover’s Company Records – In-Depth Records. 12 Aug. 2008. Lexis Nexis

            Academic. Web. 18 Aug. 2008. 

No author listed  No publication date given

“Microsoft Corporation”. America’s Corporate Finance Directory. n.d. Lexis Nexis Academic. Web. 18

             Aug. 2008. 

OTHER WEB SITES

"Africa Top 10 Internet Countries."  Table. Internet World Stats. Miniwatts Marketing Group,  March

              2009. Web. 18 June  2009.

Please note: Your instructor may require the url for a non-library web site, although it is optional in the latest MLA guidelines. 

For more complete guides to citing your sources, please see one of the following:

  • Our library's MLA LibGuide. It includes quizzes to test your knowledge of MLA style.
  • MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing 3rd Edition REF PN147 .G444 2008
  • Citation generators work too; but be sure to give them a quick check for completeness and accuracy. Example:   Noodlebib   

Please note: The Citations and Bibliography tools in MS Word 2007 will not produce  citations or bibliographies that are correct according to the latest (2008) MLA style guidelines.

          

 

 

Business Librarian, Professor

Profile ImageBess Wood (MBA, AMLS)
Contact Info:
Jerome Building Room 155
(419) 372-7904
Send Email

Subjects:
Accounting, ASOR, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing, MBA, MOD

 

Meebo

Use IM to chat with staff at the Research & Information Desk. For information about how to visit us, phone us, or email us, visit the Ask Us! page.

 

Content Development

Created by Kate Najacht, Linda Rich and Elizabeth Wood at the BGSU Libraries. 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait