Audio and Music
"Sonic Acts Haswell & Hecker" by Rosa Menkman
DRAM
Formerly the Database of Recorded American Music, DRAM is a collection of sound recordings documenting music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. Take a listen to this song, where all the instruments are leather jackets, or just go crazy with the Random button. But it also has excellent browsability.
OhioLINK Music Center
Contains streaming tracks from the Naxos label, currently more than 78,000 tracks and 21,000 works. Classical music is represented most heavily, but the collection also includes world music, spoken word, jazz, and Chinese music. Some albums of note: the Art & Music album series, which are compilations of music during an artist's era. Example: Goya - Music of His Time. (We recommend accessing the collection through Firefox; the collection does not work consistently with Explorer now.)
Sound Cloud
An interesting tool for creating and sharing sounds and sound recordings. Musicians use it to share and collaborate on music they have created. Journalists use it to create and share interviews. Poets use it for spoken works. And some just like to publish found sounds. Some of the things that make it so popular are the good audio quality, ability to comment directly on the soundwave, and the easy-to-use apps, widgets and embeds. Want more? Try it out by listening to this great album of Buddy Holly covers.
American Song
Contents range from a huge variety of social movements, historical periods, and ethnic groups, and document the history of the United States in song. Currently, the database includes 6,875 albums, totaling 116,219 tracks. Check out Jimi Hendrix's version of "God Save the Queen" from the album Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix Live At The Isle Of Wight.
Radiom.org
Radiom is the streaming archive of the Other Minds Foundation, bringing you "the sounds of revelationary new music." The site includes interviews, performances, spoken word, documentaries and more. Ever wondered what the mental communication of a rhododendron would be? Listen to "Radio Event: No. 20: Rododendron," a 1972 broadcast by Tom Zahuranec. You'll need to register to listen to contents of the site, but it's free.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
BGSU subscribes to this, "the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news." Coverage began in 1968 and continues through today. See broadcasts or transcripts of what happened today in history on the home page, or search for mainstream media coverage of historic events, such as Woodstock. For an interesting perspective, contrast that with coverage of Burning Man from 1996.
Video Resources
UbuWeb
UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avante-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. It contains lots of experimental and avant-garde films, including "Marseille," or "Impressionen vom alten Marseiller Hafen (Vieux Port)," by Laszlo Moholy-Nagy (1929).
Prelinger Archives
Over 2,000 "ephemeral" training, advertising, amateur, educational, industrial films from the Library of Congress, collected by Rick Prelinger. Includes many Cold War-era educational films like "Tragedy or Hope" (1972).
More video resources can be found in the Videos LibGuide and the Studio Art LibGuide.
Image Resources
ARTstor
Thousands of high-quality digital images, including collections from major museums and archives. Search for artworks, architecture, historical images, and photographs. Advanced features are available to faculty. To learn how to get the most out of ARTstor, watch their training videos on YouTube.
Advertising Collections of the Duke University Library Digital Collections
A portal to search and explore all of the digitized advertisements from Duke University Libraries' digital collections, including:
- Ad*Access (over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955),
- AdViews (a digital archive of vintage television commercials),
- several collections from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America (includes images of billboards from 1885-1990s), and
- the Emergence of Advertising in America (digitized print ads from 1850-1920), where you can view the Second Annual of Illustrations for Advertisements in the United States (1923).
To find more images online, see the Studio Art LibGuide.








Loading...
