Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ARTH 3190: Egyptian Art: Fall 2016 Assignment

Key resources

Reference Sources

Books

Articles

Image Sources

Librarian

Amy Fry
Contact:
Jerome Library 230

afry@bgsu.edu

419.372.2690
Website / Blog Page

Suggested keywords

For ancient art, knowing a range of alternate terms and spellings for them will aid you in your research. This is because scholars from different time periods and geographic areas spell the same terms different ways, but many library databases will only match the term as you type it in. I tried a range of spellings for the objects specified for your assignment in the resources suggested to the left. Below are my suggestions:

1959.40: Relief of Akhet-Hotep, from his tomb chapel, Saqqara, Old Kingdom, Dynasty 4 (c. 2575-2551 BCE)

Source Spelling

Oxford Art Online

n/a

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

“Akhethetep” and “Akhethotep” are both used as isolated keywords

Summon

“Akhethetep” is best

JSTOR

“Akhet-hetep” is best; “Akhet-hotep” gives a few results too

EBSCO

“Akhethetep”

British Museum

n/a

Met

n/a

ARTstor

“Akhethetep”

Other notes

Try “Saqqara,” “Saqqareh” and “Saqqarah”; try “mastaba” in place of “tomb”

1925.522: Fragment of a Relief: Amunhotep III Offering to the Gods, from the Tura quarry near Memphis, New Kingdom, Dynasty 18 (c. 1390 BCE)

Source Spelling

Oxford Art Online

n/a

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

“Amenhotpe III” is the subject entry

Summon

“Amenhotep III” is best

JSTOR

“Amenhotep III” is best; “Amunhotep” and “Amenhotpe” also give some results

EBSCO

“Amenhotep III”

British Museum

“Amenhotep III” and “Amenhotpe III” both work

Met

“Amenhotep III” and “Amenhotpe III” both work

ARTstor

“Amenhotep III” is best; a few results for “Amunhotep III”

Other notes

n/a

1962.24: Relief of Amun-hotep, Chief Physician and Royal Scribe, from his tomb chapel at Deir Derunka, Asyut, Early Dynasty 19 (c. 1280 BCE)

Source Spelling

Oxford Art Online

n/a

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

search for Amenhotep and the word physician

Summon

Amenhotep

JSTOR

Amenhotep

EBSCO

Amenhotep

British Museum

Amenhotep

Met

Amenhotep

ARTstor

Amenhotep

Other notes

Try “Deir Durunka” as well as “Deir Derunka.” "Assiut" is another spelling for Asyut.

1927.154: Seated Statue of Sakhmet, from the Temple of Mut at Karnak, Dynasty 18

Source Spelling

Oxford Art Online

Both “Sakhmet” and “Sekhmet” give results as isolated keywords

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sakhmet” is a little better

Summon

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is a little better

JSTOR

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is better

EBSCO

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is better

British Museum

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sakhmet” is a little better

Met

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sakhmet” is a little better

ARTstor

Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is better

Other notes

“Temple of Mut” is good

1906.1A-B: Coffin of Ta-Mit, from Luxor, Dynasty 26 (c. 600-550 BCE)

Source Spelling

Oxford Art Online

n/a

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt

n/a

Summon

n/a

JSTOR n/a
EBSCO n/a

British Museum

n/a

Met n/a
ARTstor n/a

Other notes

Try focusing on wooden coffins/sarcophagi

*Selected EBSCO databases: Academic Search Complete, Anthropology Plus, Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective, ATLA Religion Database, FRANCIS, Humanities International Complete