Reference Works
Reference works do a great job of contextualizing and summarizing people, places and events - making it easy to complete this background research! You can cite these authoritative library sources in your bibliography.
ARTstor
Head of a woman with gold jewelry, Sumero-Akkadian, c. 2500 BCE
If you search ARTstor for the name of your ruler, you will find object associated with him or her. Use the icons beneath the objects for additional views (and additional information) or to see other images commonly grouped by ARTstor users with the ones you found. You must create a free personal account in ARTstor to download images.
Click on the image title for full information about the object, including its repository, or owning museum. Sometimes the museum's website will contain additional information.
Your turn!
Use ARTstor to find an image associated with your ruler.
Find and copy the permanent url for the image in ARTstor.
Use the submit link below to send it to me. Include:
- Your name
- Your email address
- Link title: type in the image title
- URL: copy and paste the permanent link to the image
- Description: include these elements
- your ruler's name
- the repository where this object can be found
- whether there are other images associated with this one in ARTstor
- Head of a woman with gold jewelry by William Frederick
- Ram in a Thicket by Delaney CavanaughMy ruler's name is Lady Puabi. This item was found in a tomb at Ur. On ARTstor there are five other images associated with this one, all of them essentially the same object.
- Code of Hammurabi by Kris Ashburn• Hammurabi
• Louvre
• yes - Statue of a goddess with flowing vase: front view from Mari, throne room of palace of King Zimri-Lim by Emily FosterZimri-lim
ARTstor
there is one other image but it is the same image - Stele Of Ur Nammu by Guy DachikStele of Ur Nammu, King worshipping and carrying a masons tool.
- Statue of a goddess with flowing vase by Alexandra PetersonZimri-Lim
Aleppo Museum
yes - "Head of a Male" by Megan VanBuskirkThis head was most likely set up in a Temple.
- Relief Panels by Lauren KillAshurnasirpal II
883-889BC
Currently located in the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
367 other results for this image. - Ur-Nammu by Katie Wilson
- Relief panels by Leah HippleCuneiform inscription in Neo-Assyrian Akkadian
- The Code of Hammurabi by Alexandra KolkerRuler: Hammurabi
Repository: Musée du Louvre
There are other images associated with this one. - Stele of victory of Sargon, King of Akkad; detail. by Benjamin PowellThis is a stele of King Sargon, found at Susa. The repository is Musée du Louvre. I only found 2 other images associated with this one in ARTstor.
- "Bronze head of Sargon from Nineveh" by Allyson MorganThis is a bronze head of my ruler, Sargon.
- Statue of a goddess with flowing vase: front view from Mari, throne room of palace of King Zimri-Lim by Bethany Wrightzimri lim
alepo museum
yes two other images - Stele of the Victory of Sargon, King of Akkad by Heather SudmanRuler: Sargon
Repository: Musee du Louvre
Images associated:another image of the same object - Relief Panels by Morgan SavageCuneiform inscription in Neo-Assyrian Akkadian
- Fragment of Stone Stele Dedicated by Itur Ashtum by chloe cherubinHammurabi
British Museum, London, United Kingdom, ME 22454
No other images. - "Stele of Ur-Nammu: det.: King worshipping & carrying a mason's tool" by Rachel MoeggenbergRuler: Ur-Nammu of the Neo-Summerian Period.
There is no repository information on this piece but there are other images associated with it. - Relief Panels by Michael NungesterAshurnasirpal II (Neo-Assyrian Period) - guardian relief
- The Code of Hammurabi by Jose BorgesRuler: Hammurabi
Repository: Musée du Louvre
associated images: Yes - stele of ur-nammu by clovie pounders
- Head of a woman with gold jewelry by Julia GrummelLady Puabi Headdress
- Bronze head of Sargon by Allie GehresThe Bronze head of Sargon is a bronze helment that shows the features of Akkadian art works.
- "Bronze head of Sargon from Nineveh" by Allyson MorganSargon
Iraq Muesum
Yes there are a lot of similar images on ARTstor. - Stele of Ur-Nammu by Ian GilmerUr- Nammu
Articles & Databases
JSTOR is definitely the database where you will find the most results for searches about the history and objects of the Ancient Near East. This is because it has numerous art history and museum publications as well as numerous archaeological journals. Make searches in JSTOR as specific as possible, or limit searches to a particular discipline.
You've probably used Academic Search Complete, but the library has over 70 databases in EBSCO, including subject-specific databases like Art Full Text, Anthropology Plus, and ATLA (which is a religion database). These databases search journals that are NOT necessarily included in Academic Search Complete! Go to "Choose Databases" in EBSCO to search them all at once.
Your turn!
Use JSTOR to find an article about the object you found in ARTstor.
Find and copy the permanent url for the article.
Use the submit link below to send it to me. Include:
- Your name
- Your email address
- Link title: type in the article name
- URL: copy and paste the permanent link to the image
- Description: include these elements
- your ruler's name
- the object you were searching for
- a book title for which a book review also came up in your search results
- Plant Forms in Jewellery from the Royal Cemetery at Ur by William Fredercik
- Symbols of Fertility and Abundance, Royal Cemetary of UR by Kelsey Meyer
- The Bronze Head of the Akkadian Period from Nineveh (IRAQ) by Austin HarrodArticle of the head of Sargon, what it represents, how it came to be.
- Group 1: Lady Puabi Article by Jess PfundsteinArticle about technology & artifacts
- The Stele of Hammurabi by Kris Ashburn• Hammurabi
• The Code of Hammurabi
• The Code of Hammurabi, King of Babylon about 2250 B. C. by Robert Francis Harper - The Stele of Hammurabi by Jose BorgesRuler: Hammurabi
Object: Stele of Hammurabi
Book: The Biblical World - The Excavations at Ur: 1929-30 by Delaney CavanaughMy ruler's name is lady Puabi. I searched for the ram in the thicket at Ur. A review that came up in my search is a "Treasures from the Royal Tombs of Ur by Richard Zettler" by Lee Horne, review by Zainab Bahrani.
- Ashurnasirpal II Lion Hunt Relief BM124534 by Lauren KillAshurnasirpal II
Reliefs
Journal of Near Eastern Studies - A Gate Socket of Ur-Nammu by Katie Wilson
- The Biblical Archaeologist by Emily FosterZimri-Lim
Zimri-Lim
quick view
The Michal Affair: From Zimri-Lim to the Rabbis by Daniel Bodi, Brigitte Donnet-Guez - The Palace of Zimri-Lim at Mari by Alexandra PetersonZimri-Lim
Zimri-Lim
The Michal Affair: From Zimri-Lim to the Rabbis - The Empire of Sargon Akkad by Heather SudmanRuler: Sargon
Object: Readings about Sargon
Book Title: Archiv für Orientforschung - An Akkadian Victory Stele by Benjamin PowellMy researched ruler is Sargon. I was searching for the Victory Stele of Sargon. A link also came up for a review of the book "In the Shadow of the Muses: A View of Akkadian Literature."
- Journal of Near Eastern Studies by Morgan SavageAshurnasirpal II Lion Hunt Relief BM124534
- Journal of Near Eastern Studies by Leah HippleAshurnasirpal II Lion Hunt Relief BM124534
- Die Welt des Orients by Rachel Moeggenberg Ruler: Ur-Nammu of the Neo-Summerian period.
The Stele of Ur-Nammu
Die Welt des Orients - "The Laws of Hammurabi" by Megan VanBuskirkDescribes the laws and code of Hammurabi.
- The Empire of Sargon Akkad by Allyson MorganSargon
Sargon Akkad
The Epic of the King of Battle; Sargon of Akkad in Cappadocia - American Journal of Archaeology by Katelyn BishopAshurnasirpal II, the Relief Gates,The Texts, the Palace, and the Reliefs of Ashurnasirpal II
- The Bronze Head of the Akkadian Period from Nineveh by Bryce LloydSargon
Bronze Head of Sargon
Could not find any reviews within the first couple pages of results - Journal of the American Oriental Society by chloe cherubinHammurabi
Stele Fragment of Hammurabi's code
Journal of the American Oriental Society - Plant Forms in Jewellery from the Royal Cemetery at Ur by Julia GrummelFrom: IRAQ
- the palace of zimri lim at mari by Bethany Wrightzimri lim
Statue of a goddess with flowing vase: front view from Mari, throne room of palace of King Zimri-Lim
no reviews - The Stele of Hammurabi by Alexandra KolkerRuler: Hammurabi
Object: Law Code of Hammurabi
A book title that also came up in the search: The Hammurabi Code. by Chilperic Edwards - coronation of Ur-nammu by clovie pounders
- Visual Formula and Meaning in Neo-Assyrian Relief Sculpture by Michael NungesterAshurnasirpal II (Neo-Assyrian Period) - Guardian Relief Panels
- The Biblical Archaeologist by Amanda HertzfeldZimri Lim
Zimri Lim Art
The Biblical Archieologist and Thoughts of Zimri Lim - More on the "Ur-Nammu" Stela by Ian Gilmer



Submit
Loading...
