This is the "Resources on the Creative Process" page of the "ART 1020: Surface & Process" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ART 1020: Surface & Process   Tags: art  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/art1020 Print Guide RSS Updates
Resources on the Creative Process Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Creative Process: In General

See the following books and book chapters for more information about the creative process and convergent/divergent creativity.

Cover Art
Critical Creative Processes - Runco (ed.)
Call Number: LB1062 .C745 2003
A collection of research essays on creativity. See Chapter 4, "Creativity, Personality and the Convergent-Divergent Continuum" by H. J. Eysenck (page 95).

Cover Art
The Cambridge Handbook of Creativity - Kaufman & Sternberg (eds.)
Call Number: BF408 .C36 2010
This handbook both provides an introduction to the field of creativity and serves as a reference source and guide to more current research. See Chapter 7, "How does a visual artist create an artwork?" by Paul J. Locher (page 131).

Cover Art
Creativity from Constraints: The Psychology of Breakthrough - Patricia D. Stokes
Call Number: online
Stokes delves into the minds of famous creative artists and discovers the surprising source leading to their creative breakthroughs. Using examples such as Picasso, Monet and Frank Lloyd Wright, she explores how self-imposed, well-considered constraints can inspire new ideas.

Cover Art
The Arts and Human Development - Howard Gardner
Call Number: NX165 .G37
A classic text on the development of creativity. Illustrated throughout with children’s art, this book is a systematic examination of the relation between youthful participation in the arts and the ultimate craftsmanship attained by gifted artists. See "The Artistic Process," page 25.

Cover Art
Hot-Wiring Your Creative Process - Curt Cloninger
Call Number: online
Cloninger gives the basics of the creative process, and provides artists and designers with reasons to believe in their creative powers and get past reliance on the epiphany moment. Includes interviews with industry leaders.


Your turn!

Using the techniques discussed in the March 12, 2013 library instruction session, find an interview with an artist in a book OR magazine/journal in which the artist discusses his or her creative process. Use one (or both) of these tools:

When you have found an interview, hit the submit link below to send it to me. Include:

  1. Your name
  2. Your email address
  3. Link title: type in the article title or the book title
  4. URL: copy and paste the permanent link to the article or the call number for the book
  5. Description: include these elements
  • artist's name
  • which resource you used to find the book or article (Summon or Art Full Text)
  • the words you searched for and the limiters you used (for example, "I searched Art Full Text for "interviews" in the abstract and "mariko mori" as keywords [not using limiters])

 

In the First Person: Books

These books, videos and websites contain interviews with and writings by artists.

Artists In DepthHirshhorn Museum: Artists in Depth
http://www.hirshhorn.si.edu/bio/artists-in-depth/

This website from the Hirshhorn Museum, Smithsonian's museum of modern and contemporary art, brings together a variety of images, videos, web sources, and more on the work of 22 important international artists.

Cover Art
Interviews with Artists, 1966-2012 - Michael Peppiatt
Call Number: N6490 .P386 2012
Curator Michael Peppiatt has spent his professional life with many of the greatest artists of the 20th century and has amassed an incredible archive of interviews. This volume includes 45 of Peppiatt's most noteworthy and fascinating of his conversations with artists, from the world-famous to the under-recognized.

Cover Art
Twentieth Century Artists on Art - Jack S. Robertson
Call Number: ref NX456 .R59 1996
What artists say about their work remains a mainstay of scholarship and museum research; this publication makes a heroic attempt to track as much of this material as possible in published sources. Includes citations to 27,500 published interviews with 20th-century artists.

Cover Art
The Conversations: Interviews with 16 Contemporary Artists - Richard Whittaker
Call Number: N6490 .W489 2007
Sixteen artists comment on their work, their philosophies, their influences, the difficulty of creating art, and the failures that are part of the creative process. The artists interviewed are Richard Berger, Jim Campbell, Squeak Carnwath, James Doolin, Viola Frey, James Hubbell, Enrique MartĂ­nez Celaya, Michael C. McMillen, Nathan Oliveira, David Parker, Judy Pfaff, Irene Pijoan, Jane Rosen, Katherine Sherwood, James Turrell, and Ursula von Rydingsvard.

Cover Art
Sculpsit: Contemporary Artists on Sculpture and Beyond - Kerstin Mey (ed.)
Call Number: NB198 .S32 2001
Sculpsit focuses on the artist's voice via interviews, collaborations, artist's pages, lecture texts, and notes. Features artists such as Tracey Emin, Cornelia Parker, and Michael Sandle working in diverse media such as installation, video, photomicrograph, fireworks, memorials, canvasses, and needlepoint.

Cover Art
Art Talk: Conversations with Working Artists (videorecording)
Call Number: curta 372.5C883ar (2nd floor)
Publication Date: 2009
Contemporary artists working in various media share their thoughts on the creative process and what it means to be an artist. Artists covered in program are: sculptors Mark Cesark, James Surls, and Nancy Lovendahl; ceramist Alleghany Meadows; painters Carrie Kaplan and Tania Dibbs; glass artists Jacqueline Spiro and Lee Lyon; and totem carver John Doyle

Cover Art
Contemporary British Women Artists: In Their Own Words - Rebecca Fortnum
Call Number: N6796 .F67 2007
Twenty of the most important women artists practicing internationally but based in Britain discuss their work and influences. These interviews give insights into these artists' creative processes. Fortnum speaks to: Jananne Al-Ani, Gillian Ayres, Claire Barclay, Christine Borland, Sonia Boyce, Maria Chevska, Tacita Dean, Tracey Emin, Anya Gallaccio, Lucy Gunning, Jane Harris, Runa Islam, Vanessa Jackson, Emma Kay, Tanya Kovats, Maria Lalic, Hayley Newman, Paula Rego and Jemima Stehli and Tomoko Takahashi.

Cover Art
Sculptors at Work: Interviews About the Creative Process - Victor M. Cassidy
Call Number: NB1135 .C37 2011
Twenty-two sculptors discuss where ideas come from and how they transform them into sculpture as well as their personal goals, material selection, color and scale determinations, work in progress, how they overcome blocks, and how they've matured creatively.

Cover Art
Artist to Artist: 23 Major Illustrators Talk to Children About Their Art - Gauch, Briggs, Palmer, and Steurer (eds.)
Call Number: juv 741.6A7913 (2nd floor)
Artists in children's literature share secrets about their art and detail their journey into the world of illustration, providing photographs of their early work, sketches and finished art, and self-portraits.

 

Interviews with Artists: Magazines

Each link below will take you to a list of interviews with artists in each of the featured journals. Most will be full text, but, if not, you may be able to find the journal in print on the first floor of the Jerome Library.

Interview cover

Interview: Interviews with Artists

Interview magazine was started by Andy Warhol! It contains lots of interviews with artists. Full text online.

Art in America

Art in America: Interviews with Artists

Art in America covers contemporary art worldwide. In print at Jerome Library  and full text online. 

Flash Art website

Flash Art: Interviews with Artists

Flash Art contains news of the contemporary art world. Full text online. 

BOMB cover

BOMB: Interviews with Artists

Bomb includes interviews and dialogues between artists, writers, musicians, directors, actors, photographers and musicians. Full text online. 

Artforum

Artforum: Interviews with Artists

Artforum covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, and advertising. In print at Jerome Library, 1996 to present.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip