Berg Fashion LIbrary
The full text of the ten-volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion explores the dressed and adorned body across cultures and throughout history (17th century to contemporary). Access the encyclopedia in the Berg Fashion Library database, which also includes thousands of color images, ebooks, essays, and additional reference materials on fashion.
What is a Trade Publication?
A trade publication (magazine, journal or newspaper) contains news articles and items of interest concerning a particular job, career, trade, or industry.
Articles are written by specialists in the field, but sometimes do not list an author.
- Articles are written for people who work in a particular field such as fashion, apparel, or retail,.
- Articles are written to provide practical information, news, etc. Specialized language or jargon is often used.
Apparel & Textile Industry Trade Publications (Used in FMPD 1510)
Earnshaw's (Infants - girls - boys wear) : Access and search Earnshaw's within Business Source Complete or on their website. Also available in print at the Jerome Library. Main Periodicals (in back corner behind the Learning Commons)
Textile World: Search for articles in Textile World through EBSCO Business Source Complete or go to textileworld.com.
WWD (Women's Wear Daily): Connect to WWD online. Read current content or search the WWD archives from 1994 - present.
NRF Explore (National Retail Federation) : Explore industry information on this freely accessible site of the world's largest retail association.
Others...
Vogue Business : Access this new fashion industry publication at voguebusiness.com.
Sourcing Journal : Access and search Sourcing Journal online.. This publication offers industry news, expert commentary and in-depth analysis.
Find Articles & Statistics on the Fashion, Apparel & Textile Industry
- Business Source CompleteContains the full text of articles from Apparel Magazine, Bobbin, and others. Also contains company, industry, and country reports.
- MarketLine AdvantageCompany, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
- Nexis UniContains the full text of articles from titles such as WWD, Home Textiles Today, and Daily News Record.
- Vogue ArchiveA complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
- Textile ExchangeTextile Exchange is a global nonprofit organization that focuses on a sustainable textile industry.
- Berg Fashion Library in Bloomsbury Fashion CentralColor images, ebooks, essays, and additional reference materials on fashion.
- Mintel: Retailing & Apparel ReportsBrowse this list for reports such as "Mens Clothing" or "Activewear" or "Character Merchandising"
Industry Reports
- IBISWorld (Industry Reports)Contains expert analysis of economic, demographic and government data, providing insight into over 700 U.S. industries. Industries profiled include: Women's & Men's Clothing Stores in the U.S., Children & Infants Clothing Stores in the U.S., Global Apparel Manufacturing, and more.
- Hoover's Industry Snapshots (In Nexis-Uni)Conduct a search using appropriate industry keywords. Industries include: Apparel Manufacturing, Clothing Stores, Footwear Manufacturing, Discount Department Stores plus many more.
- MarketLine AdvantageCompany, industry and country information for US and global business. Includes in-depth analyst reports and statistics.
- S & P NetAdvantageAccess S & P Industry Surveys (link on top menu bar) for Textiles, Apparel & Luxury Goods and Specialty Retail.
Trade vs. Scholarly vs. Popular - Which is it?
ARTICLE #1: Meghan Markle Ready for Baby! (Look for PDF)
ARTICLE #2: Composite Fibers in Concretes with Various Strengths (Look for PDF)
ARTICLE #3: Nonwovens: Current Trends & Opportunities
Selected Websites Covering the Fashion, Apparel & Retail Industries
- California Apparel NewsRead up on the latest news in apparel and fashion,
- The Business of Fashion (BoF) [Limited Free Access]Fashion news and analysis from around the world.
- National Retail Federation News (NRF)News, trends, and insights in retail.
- Retail DiveOnline daily newsletter covering trends and information in the retail industry. Includes retail tech, e-commerce, in-store operations, marketing, and more.
- NRF NXTRetail's Ecommerce and Digital Marketing Event
- Apparel SearchVisit this site to explore job openings in the fashion industry. Apparel search offers a wide range of information relevant to fashion and style.