Helpful Links
Just a couple of additional websites and resources to help get you started.
- ATE Program homepageOfficial homepage for BGSU's Advanced Technological Education program.
- BGSU Distance Education SupportSupport for Online Students @ BGSU
- University Libraries' Distance EducationNeed to check out books or get copies of articles, but you can't get to the BGSU campus? Need to contact a librarian for help? Check out the University Libraries' Distance Education page for help.
More Related Guides
Check out these guides for tons more information to help you succeed as a student in the ATE program.
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
University Libraries sponsors several different workshops throughout the year. Some of them take place in Jerome Library and some of them take place in the Center for Teaching and Learning.
47 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 21, 2012
Online resources offer a variety of ways to export or save citations and articles so you can easily return to them on-screen instead of printing them. This guide explains these options and demonstrates how they work in several different library databases.
184 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
A guide to the electronic books collections available through the BGSU Libraries.
623 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 24, 2012
A student's guide to high-performance research
936 views this year
- Last Updated Jul 19, 2012
Library resources for students taking web-based or off-campus courses.
236 views this year
Tell Us Your Favorite!
ATE in the University Libraries
Welcome to the Advanced Technological Education (ATE) research guide. We hope you'll find it to be a rich resource of databases, websites, tips, and tricks to help you succeed in your program. Use the tabs across the top to access:
- Research Databases - for locating full-text articles
- Electronic Books (E-Books)
- Selected websites on several topics
- Remote access
- Evaluating Websites (Fast Track)
- Information on citing and evaluating your sources
- APA Style tutorial
- Ask Us! - numerous ways to get help
Don't forget to use the Ask Us! link if you ever need help. You can IM us or call us during regular Research & Information Desk hours, or send us an email and we'll get back to you within a day (or two, on the weekends).
Google vs Research Databases
The image below illustrates a search for "smartphones" in Google and in one of our subscription databases. Note that there are many differences, and depending on what sort of information you're looking for, Google isn't always the best choice. Click the image to display full size.
Getting Started at the University Libraries
- To borrow items from the libraries, you need your BGSU photo ID and a current record in the library database. For more detailed information, see Borrowing, Renewing, and Requesting
- For remote access to the online research databases, login in with your BGSU user name and password (same as for campus email, MyBGSU, and BGSU lab and library computers.)
- If the University Libraries doesn't have what you need, chances are that OhioLINK does. OhioLINK is the 80+ academic (and some public) libraries that lend their resources to one another through an online requesting system. Look for the "Request this item" button in the OhioLINK catalog. For more detailed information, see OhioLINK requesting.
- We're here to assist you! If you need help using the library, can't find what you want, have an assignment and need help getting started, Ask Us! for immediate help. Besides drop-in help, the University Libraries offer Individual Research Appointments for undergraduates & graduate students.
Requesting Locally Owned Articles
The University Libraries is offering a new service. Basically, if BGSU owns a journal in print, you can request an article from that journal via Interlibrary Loan and have it delivered electronically to your desktop, no matter where you are.
Requesting an Electronic Copy of an Article Only Available in Print:
- If you identify an article that is not available in full text, enter the citation via interlibrary loan using ILLIAD. If BGSU owns the print copy, you will receive a copy of the article electronically. Items not owned by BGSU will be requested via the regular interlibrary loan process.
- Distance students should add text in the note field of each request in ILLIAD that they are a "distance education student."
Turn Around Times For ILLIAD Requests
- Articles From BGSU: 1 Business Day
- Articles From Other Institutions: Approximately 2 Weeks.
For more information, contact ill@bgsu.edu or call Interlibrary Loan at 419-372-8726.



Loading...
